More WIPs become FOs!

I’ve been busy again this week trying to cut down my number of ‘Work in Progress’s’ and I have a few more finished objects to share with you!

The first is my #imapiece jigsaw piece:

Piece

I found out about #imapiece from Mrs. M, who also made a jigsaw piece. The project is part of Save the Children’s campaign against hunger. 2.3 million children per year die because they don’t have enough of the right food to eat. The aim of the project is to raise awareness and show that the craft community wants the Government to use its power and influence as host of the 2013 G8 to tackle injustice. Each piece of the puzzle has a message stitched onto it as a reminder that we are all responsible for taking care of everyone else.

Craftivist Collective are organising the event, and they will create an art installation using all of the pieces to raise awareness of the issues. It will be displayed in London then hopefully it will also displayed at the G8 to raise awareness.

For anyone who wants to take part, you can find all of the information here. You have until the end of the month to get the pieces to them.

For my piece, I chose the phrase, ‘I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.’ This phrase felt appropriate for me as a lot of the pieces were being gathered by groups of people stitching together, however, there were no events taking place near me and I didn’t have the time or means to set up a group myself so it meant that my little jigsaw piece is being posted alone. However, my single piece might well be that stone that casts the ripples and gets others involved in the campaign. It was also a nice reminder to realise that although I was making the piece alone, it would be one of hundreds from craft lovers all over the country. As a final touch to my piece, I added some of the buttons that I won in Mrs, M’s giveaway, as another reminder that I’m not alone in the campaign and it seemed appropriate as she was the person that inspired me to take part in the first place. I think the stars and hearts in the pastel colours make a great finishing touch to the jigsaw piece.

Button

I can also share my secret crochet project with you as it has now reached its destination! As part of the Surprise Pay it Forward that I signed up to last year, I made this for Janey:

Crochet

 

Janey was the person who inspired me to do my 22 before 22 list as she does a list of her own every year. This year, one of her goals is to learn how to crochet so I made her this crochet hook case. Here is what the inside looks like:

Crochet 2

 

Rainbow! The case holds 18 hooks so lets hope Janey takes to crochet like I did! I put a 4mm and a 5mm hook inside the case and also sent a practice ball of yarn and an instruction DVD from ‘The Art of Crochet’ magazine to help her get started learning the stitches. I hope she finds them useful! I bought the pattern for the case from Etsy. I have never done the stitch that made up the exterior of the case before so it turned out a little on the baggy side but I was pretty pleased with the finished result and Janey emailed me telling me that she was pleased with it too.

And the final FO of the week wasn’t craft related but I wanted to share it anyway:

WP_20130208_001

 

This is the Doctor Who jigsaw my parents got my boyfriend for Christmas. It took a while to get round to starting it but we finally did get it started a couple of weeks ago…if only we had known then how difficult it would be to finish! We worked hard at it for ages until I refused to leave on Friday until it was finished! Luckily we managed to get it done by about 10.30 on Friday evening and it was worth the struggle for the sense of satisfaction that we were left with. It is the longest it has ever taken us to complete a jigsaw because all of the pieces are various shades of grey but we got there in the end!

Hopefully this week will be as productive as the last one!

Related Articles:

14 thoughts on “More WIPs become FOs!

  1. lifeathollycottage says:

    What a lovely idea the jigsaw piece is Hannah, and I love your message – very apt. I also LOVE that crochet hook case. Is it your own pattern, or could I find it somewhere, would be a great project for me as I am always losing my hooks! (plus it would use a little more of my stash up!) Nikki x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      The crochet hook case is a great way of using up stash! The link to the pattern is in the paragraph under the photo of the inside where it says “etsy” that will take you to the page to purchase the pattern. Sorry I can’t paste the link here again, I’m on my phone and it is being awkward but if you have any problems let me know and I’ll send you the link later 🙂 x

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Love the Dr. Who puzzle, I can’t imagine how hard it must have been with everything the same color. I’ve always wanted to be a puzzle person but I just lack the puzzle patience.

    And I really love the puzzle piece. An inspiring message for an inspirational project. What a great cause to contribute to!

Leave a Reply

