What I was busy doing in my break

So, I know that my blog was neglected for a while when I was revising for my exams and writing essays but fortunately my crafting wasn’t! I have been really busy improving my sewing skills and working on several cross stitch pieces!

Before I show you those though, here is an update on my Not Your Average Crochet CAL:

WP_20130618_003

 

Week three is done! I spent Saturday quickly finishing my Dad’s Father’s Day card ready for Sunday morning, so I had completely forgotten about the CAL. It made a really nice surprise to find it as I was browsing through my reader, so I spent Sunday evening after work busily stitching the next few rows…I’m really impressed with how quickly it is growing! I can’t wait to get the next set of instructions tomorrow.

Now, here are some of the projects that I have been working on recently:

The first sewing project that I completed was my set of three fabric baskets. One holds my pattern envelopes, one is great for my stash of fat quarters and the third holds my post supplies!Β 

WP_20130621_019

I really enjoyed sewing them and I managed to complete them all in an afternoon…although I still have to finish the ends off… I have got the supplies in to make one for my Mum for Christmas and I am going to stuff it with stitching supplies and pattern envelopes. I was inspired by a post by Pillows A-La-Mode Β about the Get A Clue with Nancy Drew fabric range. My Mum always loved Nancy Drew when she was younger and she shared that with me as I was growing up, so I knew that the fabric would be ideal! I got two fat quarters to make the basket and I am contemplating buying the charm pack to put in it. I just need to get some more substantial interfacing when I make one for Mum, mine aren’t as strong as I would like!

Another sewing project that I had to complete pretty quickly was the bow tie from the Great British Sewing Bee book. James decided to tell me about a week before the media awards that he wanted me to make him a bow tie…a first for me with not much time to do it around university essays… Miraculously, I managed to get it done and it turned out pretty well! (If I do say so myself!)

Here it is:

WP_000146 (1)

931313_10151948354189392_1118939734_n

 

Here he is looking rather James Bond-esque in his finished bow tie!

I also completed my first quilting project! I made this quilted knitting bag from the Quilting in No Time book by Emma Hardy.

WP_000163 (1)

 

Again…ends aren’t quite finished yet…oops! Can you tell I don’t like finishing them off! I also need to get some buttons to sew onto the point where the handle joins the bag. I really enjoyed quilting and I can’t wait to try another project.

I have also sewn my maxi skirt together using the fabric that I bought from the Vintage Fair. I just have to hem it them I can share some photos with you…it will be the first item of clothing I have made!

In term of cross stitching, I finished the birthday card that I was making and I sent it to my German penpal Tobi! We have been penpals for years now and I have never made him anything but when I saw this design I knew that it was perfect! As usual, I forgot to take a photo before I sent it so here is the photo from the magazine instead.

WP_20130621_023

 

It is from the Cross Stitcher Handmade Card Collection magazine.

I also managed to finish my cross stitch bracelet! After destroying hundreds of beading needles it was FINALLY complete! Here is is along with my End of Ball dress, which I wore with it:

WP_000126 (1)

 

I have been working on my Woodland Sampler too! I am still much further behind than I was hoping to be! I have finally finished January, February and March (the point that everyone else was at when I started) and I am desperately trying to plough my way through April, May and June so that I can start on the frames again ready for July. Β Because I have been so busy trying to catch up on this one, my Vintage kit it still sat without any progress.

WP_20130621_020

This fabric was one of two pieces that I won in a giveaway by Katy at Creating Misericordia! It is the first time I have ever stitched on even-weave fabric and I absolutely love it! It is so much nicer than Aida and I have another two projects lined up to make on the rest of the fabric after this one! I am also looking into ordering some in pink for another project too…I don’t think I will be choosing Aida for any projects in the future! I have ordered some anti-fray spray to try and stop the edges from fraying as the fabric frays so fast…particularly when you carry it everywhere in a bag like I do!

The last project that I have been working on was the Father’s Day Card that I mentioned earlier. It came free with a copy of Cross Stitch Crazy and I fell in love with the design! My Dad was thrilled with it too!

WP_20130616_002

 

So, as you can see, even though I haven’t been blogging I have still been keeping myself busy! Hopefully I will be as productive in the next few weeks too!

24 thoughts on “What I was busy doing in my break

  1. Katy says:

    Wow, you have finished a lot! I’m glad you’re looking the even weave fabric, it definitely opens out a lot of possibilities, once you feel brave enough to give it a go.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha that isn’t usually the case so it feels good having a lot to share! I really do love it! I have worked out three projects for the fabric you send me and I’m thrilled with how this one is turning out! I certainly won’t look back after trying even weave…thank you for the chance to try it!

  2. Ginny says:

    Wow! You have been a busy gal! Your beau looks very dashing in his bow tie. You did an awesome job on it! All of your stitchy stuff is wonderful. I love the card you made for your Dad. It’s so sweet! The bracelet turned out lovely and matched your dress perfectly. Your organization baskets are super! What a great way to organize. Funny, I always thought Aida was an evenweave as all of the holes are “evenly” spaced. I am truly and Aida girl and love stitching on 16 ct. I do use Lugana an Jobelan, mostly for the Round Robins I participate in and a few other designs, but Aida is my fabric of choice. What is the fabric your Woodland sampler is being stitched on? It looks nice and soft.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you for all of your compliments! I had fun making all of them! I was always under the impression that Aida wasn’t even weave because there are larger holes where the corners of the cross is…but I may be wrong! It is Anchor Jobelan that I am stitching on at the moment and it is really soft! I am bidding on some in pink on Ebay too for a future project… It has helped me feel inspired to stitch again!

  3. Ginny says:

    Ooops..forgot to mention your Crochet blanket is coming along fantastically! Great job for keeping up with it every week. Your stitches look great!

      • empress27 says:

        I think I am going to have to have a go at making this when I get the perfect yarn to match. The crochet blanket I am doing is wonderful, but tedious. That one looks like you won’t be bored as it changes regularly.

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        Ooh you definitely should! I think Hannah is compiling all of the instructions at the end of the CAL so it will all be accessible in one place. It certainly doesn’t get boring! I’m usually rubbish at keeping up with these things but I am really enjoying this and I can’t wait for every Saturday to roll around!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Aww thank you πŸ˜€ yeah I really love the woodland sampler…I’m not usually a sampler person but it is so cute!!! The bracelet was hard work but definitely worth it in the end!

  4. katescrochet says:

    I love that Nancy Drew fabric too. No idea what I would make with it but I know at some point I’ll end up buying some. I used to LOVE those books. Nice to see you back! x

Leave a Reply

