So Many Stitches

WP_000524

Last week Me and James went to stay with his parents for a few days, which meant a few days away from university work and a few days to focus on crafts. I took the birthday card that I have been stitching with me and made a huge amount of progress! I should have it finished soon but I’m afraid I can’t share it with you until they have received it!

While we were away, I bought the threads for a couple of other project, the first of which was the metal cuff that I bought last week. I was hoping to sit down on the evening of our return and stitch it as a quick project but it is anything but! I cannot find a needle anywhere that will go through the holes which is a pain. The improvised solution I have come up with it to use my needle threader to pull the floss through the holes but it takes so long and it has already broken one threader so the project is on hold until I can come up with another solution. And if that wasn’t headache enough, the chart for the rose from the magazine has been adapted to fit in the bracelet, but there is no chart showing what changes have been made so I am having to try and work it out from the photograph which makes the progress even slower.

I have, however, started another project which I hope will be quicker! It is the Woodland Sampler by The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery, which I discovered thanks to Finally Waking Up. The sampler has a different woodland image for each month, which is emailed to you on the first of each month and it is absolutely adorable! As soon as I saw it I knew that I wanted to take part in this adorable stitch along, and, because all of the boxes are a manageable size, I will easily catch up the three months that I have already missed and from then on it won’t take me long each month to stitch in the newest design. I love the idea of spending a couple of evenings on these designs to have a break from bigger projects, but because it is spread out over a month, you are eager to see what is coming next so hopefully I won’t get fed up of it!

Speaking of breaks from bigger projects, there is still incredibly slow progress on my Vintage cross stitch as you can see. The beach huts took me forever but since then I have got a few bits done but it is taking me much longer than I had hoped. I just have one more item to stitch and then I will have completed the bottom left corner but I still have a long way to go. Hopefully my motivation will pick up again so that I can get the bottom part done quickly.

Cross stitching isn’t the only craft that has been keeping me busy though, I have also been crocheting a beanie to send to the very brave Cupcake Mummy at Cupcakes and Sailors who is not only collecting beanies for cancer patients, she has also donated her hair to make a wig for a patient! I completely admire her bravery and her hard work in collecting these beanies so I was eager to donate and there is still time for you to join us!

WP_000525

On top of all of that keeping me busy, my friend has asked me to crochet her two jammy dodgers and a Zingy! Plus, since this is my last week of the holidays I MUST get my university work done so it looks like some crafts will have to go back into hibernation until I have caught up with everything. These will all come in handy for my stash buster challenge though!

 

Related Articles:

3 thoughts on “So Many Stitches

  1. Ginny says:

    Your projects look wonderful and I can’t wait to see the card that you are stitching. For the bracelet, have you tried a beading needle? Mill Hill makes the best beading needles that I have found. I like the short one the best. It just may have an eye small enough to go through the holes in the cuff. I hope that you can get through all of your school work without any problems. Would hate for you to get behind.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      It will be a while until I can share it yet but hopefully it will be worth the wait! Ooh I hadn’t thought of that, my mum said she has one somewhere so I will give that a go! Thanks for the tip 🙂 I hope so too! I am going to have a day of hard work tomorrow to get me back on track 🙂

Leave a Reply

