My Postcard Collection: My Choices

Thanks to Swap-bot and Postcrossing, I have started a postcard collection which is growing quickly. However, I have also been picking up postcards to add to my collection.

Here are some of the cards I have chosen:

img009

 

Sent - 5 Non-touristy postcard swap 5

 

Paperchase has a stunning range of postcards and these two appealed to me, initially, simply because they were pink! I love the stunning photography of the second image though, which is unsurprising as it is Audrey Hepburn in a Vogue photo shoot! I also love the retro image of the cassette…flashback to my 90s childhood!

img013

 

img006

 

These two were ones that I picked up on a trip to Whitby. I love the traditional British seaside image of the 99 (an anyone actually remember the last time they found a 99 for 99p…?) and everyone knows I have a weakness for caravans!

img008

 

Ironically, this Dracula postcard wasn’t from Whitby but York! I couldn’t resist this cute image of a literature classic!

img010

 

img011

 

img012

 

img014

 

This group of photos came from my local art gallery and are all by the artist Frederick William Elwell. These are Edwardian and Georgian portraits, and I bought them because of my love for old fashioned portraits…Victorian ones are my favourite! I was inspired to buy these last year, a long time before I started my collection! I bought these after doing an activity in my Creative Writing class where we had to write a story using the images on three postcards that we randomly picked up from a pile. I really enjoyed the activity and it really inspired me so I wanted to buy some to repeat the activity. My love for Victorian ghost stories encouraged me to pick these ones up…I still haven’t worked them into a story yet but with an expanding postcard collection I’m sure it won’t be long before I do!

img015

 

Finally, being a bookseller at Waterstones, I couldn’t resist picking up one of these to go in my collection! I completely agree with the statement πŸ˜‰

 

2 thoughts on “My Postcard Collection: My Choices

Leave a Reply

