The Vintage Fair…Mark Two

If I hadn’t learnt the first time I visited The Vintage Fair, I paid it a visit this weekend on its latest visit to Hull and, once again, my fabric stash has grown and my bank balance has shrunk! This trip was a much speedier visit though, as the fabric stall was right where I walked in this time so I picked up my piece as I had just stepped through the door…the second fabric stall was just two stalls away then I was spent up! It was worth it though, I got some great vintage fabrics at great prices!

The first piece that I bought was a piece of 1980s Laura Ashley fabric that I had no idea what I would use it for but I couldn’t leave without it!

WP_000104 (1)

 

The print is pretty large, each square is approx 13 x 14.5cm (so not actually square at all…) and the whole piece measures 116 x 180cm. Because the fabric has been a curtain in a previous life, there is about 10cm at the top that is unusable because of where the stitching was but because of this, the woman only charged me £6 for it! Bargain! Another shopper was eyeing this one up and suggested it would look nice in a kitchen, which it would…if I had a kitchen… However, I mentioned this to my mum when I got in and she said it would make a nice apron and oven glove set so now I’m feeling inspired…it’s never too early to start gathering supplies for when I move out!

The second piece of fabric screamed ‘maxi skirt’ at me the minute I saw it. I’m generally not a skirt person but I saw someone wearing a maxi skirt at uni the other day and the fabric was stunning so I was tempted to make one. When I got to the fair and saw this fabric, I knew that it was destined to be transformed into a maxi! Here it is:

WP_000100 (1)

 

The fabric is quite stretchy and had a decent weight to fall nicely as a skirt. The piece is also huge, it is 178 x 220 cm so there is plenty for a skirt and the piece of fabric only cost £12!

I found this tutorial to make these lovely but incredibly simple maxi skirts, which is what I will be using to make mine:

525548_2912737661671_1357532521_32151335_372343750_n

 

Unfortunately the skirt is going to be pretty low on my to do list at the moment though, in the next two weeks I have three essays and an exam but then it is the start of my summer holiday so from then on it will be all crafts! Here is a brief reminder (I say brief…) about the sewing projects I currently have in some state of motion:

From the last Vintage Fair I have two bags in process using this curtain:

IMG_6584small

 

These have halted for the moment because they use so many bits and pieces and I can’t afford to buy them all in one go at the moment! I am gradually gathering bits every time I get paid so hopefully these bags will be finished eventually!

I also have a dress pattern to make a dress out of the other fabric that I got from the previous Vintage Fair:

IMG_6585small

 

As well as that, I am making a holdall to keep my yarn in made from the fabric James bought me on Valentines day from Leeds:

Fabric

 

And I am making the pencil skirt from The Great British Sewing Bee book from the fabric I bought from Hobbycraft:

WP_000534

 

And I finally found a use for the other fabric that I bought from Hobbycraft too! This fabric…

WP_000535

 

Is going to become this…

6f3d3d553bba3163566eb3642fe3d77a

 

I found this lovely tutorial through Pinterest so I am turning the soldier fabric into three of the smallest version of these. I am making one to store my sewing envelopes in, one for the post I receive for my swaps from #PostCircle, Postcrossing and Swap-bot, and one for the cards that I have collected ready to post out! I am also considering making one for my mum to put some sewing envelopes in for her birthday or Christmas!

So, as you can see, it’s a pretty long list! To add to that, James has asked me to make him a bow tie for the end of year ball…I’m not sure how that one will turn out!

As well as sewing, I am currently in the middle of a crochet project for James for Christmas, a knitting project for a friend for Christmas, a birthday present for another friend, several cross stitch projects and I have a huge list of Christmas presents to make for my handmade Christmas…I’m going to have a pretty busy summer by the looks of it! Not to mention that I am starting Not Your Average Crochet’s CAL in June too!

 

Related Articles:

17 thoughts on “The Vintage Fair…Mark Two

  1. Jill Goldberg says:

    Love everything! Particularly the maxi skirt – I don’t usually wear skirts either, but now that it’s boot weather here a couple of skirts would be perfect. And I hate paying the prices in the shops 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you 😀 I was thrilled with my finds! That’s why I was drawn to the maxi skirt, it is getting a bit warm here for my jeans but I’m not lucky enough to be a ‘legs’ person…it will be nice to wear something cooler without having them on show! I know what you mean, the prices in shops are ridiculous and if I make it and find that I don’t wear it I can simply turn it into something else!

  2. cuteasabutton82 says:

    Ooo, lovely fabric! I can’t wait to see all these projects you have in mind 🙂 On another note, my brother made a bow tie last year and he has absolutely no idea about sewing! I didn’t actually see it but Mum did and said it looked very professional. I’m pretty sure he just took apart an old bow tie, drew around it and cut it out! There was very minimal sewing involved! So I’m sure your bow tie will be fabulous 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thanks, I was really pleased with my finds 😀 oh that’s reassuring then! I have a pattern in The Great British Sewing Bee book and there are more steps on how to tie the bow tie than how to make it so fingers crossed it will all go to plan!

  3. Vix says:

    Oh my goodness, you’re working on more projects than I am! I’m excited to know how the maxi skirt turns out, that fabric is gorgeous x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha there are a fair few on the go! It’s because I’ve had so much university work at the moment, I keep coming up with ideas and no time to do them! Luckily it will all be over in two weeks then I have 4 months where I don’t have to do anything other than crafting! I’m sure I will get them done pretty quickly, nearly all of the projects are cut and most of them are pinned too, it’s just a case of getting them sewn up now! I will probably do the maxi skirt first as it looks like one of the easiest projects I will be attempting (after the boxes) so hopefully there will be photos soon 🙂 x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha unfortunately I don’t at the minute, hence why none of them are finished! But in two weeks I will have finished another year of university so I will have four months to do them all before I go back again!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I do hope so 😀 I bought my cotton today and I officially hand in my LAST university essay tomorrow, unfortunately I am working on Wednesday but on THURSDAY I am planning on having a whole day of sewing and this one one of the first projects on my list so hopefully photos will follow shortly! It will be the first item of clothing I have made so fingers crossed! Thanks for the comment 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

