Stitching Nightmare!

A while ago I found a Dimensions Gold cross stitch kit that I absolutely fell in love with (and thanks to eBay I also found it at a bargain price!) I decided to invest in the kit and work on it as my summer project not that I have finished University until October.

This is what the finished kit will look like:

However, last night I couldn’t work out why my stitches weren’t lining up. After hunting for about an hour I found the problem. I am working from the centre, and I have completed the end column of the window above the table. Next, I went  to do the doorway on the left of it, but somehow, I have stitched the doorway one row too high up so it doesn’t line up to the window correctly! After lots of consideration it seems the only way I can fix it is by undoing it 😦

However!

It did occur to me that I may be able to get away with only taking the blue out (that was all I had done in the doorway) and adding an extra row of orange at the bottom of the door frame and removing one from the top! That would mean I only lose one evenings worth of work! So fingers crossed it all goes to plan and the procedure isn’t as painful as I first expected!

In better news…the crochet learning is all going well! I am still completing a square a day for my throw and I am in the process of making a pair of pink fluffy bunny slippers! I am also going to make a trip to Hobbycraft later today to *hopefully* buy the wool for my hat as long it is still sat in the clearance basket waiting for me!

8 thoughts on “Stitching Nightmare!

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    I love this pattern! I found in on sale and have it in my stash of kits. I can’t wait to see how yours comes out. I hate when I’ve just started a pattern only to realize I’ve already messed something up. It’s heartbreaking. Hope you’re able to get everything sorted out quickly and without losing too much time!

      • cross(stitch)yourheart says:

        That’s so true, with my luck I usually don’t notice something’s wrong until I’ve been stitching for days and suddenly the pattern doesn’t match. I’ve gotten very good at improvising, lol

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        Haha my mum was trying to tell me how to improvise but I got so confused! The pattern is pretty complicated so it was difficult to work out! I decided that the sensible thing to do was to just take it out!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hi! I have only been stitching for just over a year now and doing crochet for about a month but I have fallen in love with all things crafty now! I want to have a go at everything! Unfortunately the cross stitch may take a while but I will be sure to post my process!
      It’s great that you are having a go at crafts! My Mum inspired me to start cross stitch and now I am teaching her to crochet! Your paper flower is lovely! I can’t wait to see what other creations you create! Good luck with them!

Leave a Reply

