August 2015 Goals

So sorry I’ve been MIA for a few weeks now! July turned out to be a really stressful month in the end and unfortunately something had to give to help me maintain my sanity (or what I had left of it anyway!) Blogging just wasn’t a priority for me while I had so many other things demanding my attention but luckily I now seem to be getting myself back on track. As always, while I was on my blogging summer break I have been busy with all sorts of things that I have ready to share with you! But for now, I’ll recap on those goals I set way back at the beginning of June! Plus I have risked setting some goals for the remaining two weeks of August (when did it get to the middle of August???) so we will see how I get on with those this month…

June/July Outcomes:

Once Upon a Time Sampler – This one was a success! I managed to get the frames for June and July filled in with no problems…it stitched up really quickly! I do love working on the little design each month to give me a break from my bigger projects!

Barcelona Sunset – My aim for June was to finish stitching the lizard (achieved!) and to stitch half of the wall (not achieved.) However, although I didn’t get the wall stitched in, I did make a start on the backstitch. I know, I always go on about how much I hate backstitch! But in comparison to stitching the solid grey mass of the wall, backstitch seemed favourable! I have completed three quarters of the backstich for the whole project now which is really spurring me one! So I didn’t completely achieve the goal in June, but I did beat my overall target for the project (to finish by the end of August) by finishing it at the end of July! I never thought I’d see the end of it but I am thrilled with the result!

Goals 1

Kawaii Halloween Swap – For my Kawaii Halloween Swap, I wanted to complete three additional gifts to add to my box of goodies for my partner in June. Amazingly, I actually managed this! I finished the bat keyring that I was working on, then also crocheted a cute amigurumi pumpkin and made a shrink plastic necklace and charm bracelet too! These aren’t the three projects that I was planning on completing, but I did get three done nevertheless! I have now made a start on my next few projects for the box, and I have a few more ideas in store!

Goals 3

Christmas – So making a proper start on my Christmas presents just didn’t happen. I started stitching another pair of Liberty knickers but I fell out with the gusset while attaching the elastic so I didn’t quite manage to finish them! No progress on the Christmas card front either…

Handmade Wardrobe – I successfully managed to complete my Jump into June Jumpsuit that I have signed myself up for! So sorry I never got round to posting it! I also made a jacket to wear with it too. One of the reasons I was so busy in July was because I was busy making my dress for graduation, and a dress for my colleague Ruth – I loved the one I made her so much I made one for myself too!

InstagramCapture_4bf16740-1a27-497f-b077-19552f719ddf

Exercise – I didn’t quite manage to finish my 30 day shred – I dropped off at the last few days! But I did the majority of it so I don’t feel too bad…. I also ran my 10k charity run in July and I managed it in 1 hour 16 minutes which I was thrilled with considering I didn’t do as much training as I would have liked!

Slimming World – June and July were really successful months for Slimming World! I managed to hit the two stone mark which was a huge achievement, and leaves me at just slightly over one stone to go! The only down side is I now have no clothes that fit me and buying replacements is proving expensive but at least it is a positive problem to have!

Spring Cleaning – I have made a little bit of progress with my spring cleaning but not as much as I liked. I managed to finish my clothes sorting which was then crossed off the list, but since losing more weight nothing fits me now and it all needs sorting again!

August Goals:

Once Upon a Time Sampler – Now that I have finished Barcelona Sunset, this has become my designated ‘work cross stitch.’ I frequently cross stitch on rainy lunch breaks or before work when I am in the office early, so I usually keep a project in my work bag at all times. I have decided that I would like to get this one up to date (as in all of the frames completed and the banner at the top stitched) so that I can just see out the rest of the year spending a couple of days filling in each block at the beginning of the month, so I am going to use my free time at work to get this done. This month I want to get the August block stitched in (it is Phantom of the Opera…my favourite so far!) and the remaining two frames stitched up, so that I can dedicate next month to filling in the latest block and stitching the banner.

Goals 2

Cut Thru’ Caravan – Now that Barcelona Sunset is complete my latest urgent project is the Cut Thru’ Caravan I am stitching for my Grandma for Christmas. I have already made some reasonable progress on it and it is stitching up pretty quickly which is reassuring, but to feel like I am well on track to complete in time I would like to finish this page of the pattern by the end of this month. It just involves filling in the gaps in the caravan which should be achievable (fingers crossed!)

Goals 4

Kawaii Halloween Swap – I am still making a few little bits and pieces to include in the box for my partner of the Kawaii Halloween Swap. The postal deadline for the swap is the 1st October so I still have quite a lot of time to craft for it but this month I aim to make a cushion cover and a couple of cute little felt items to include. If I can get all of these done this month I can focus on buying the little extras and crafting the main item of the swap in September.

Christmas – I really MUST make a proper start on Christmas gifts! The progress with my Cut Thru’ Caravan has reassured me that I still have time to complete projects for Christmas, but the volume of Christmas presents is really worrying me! I am hoping to find a weekend this month to sit down and make plenty of cards so that they are well on the way, but with birthdays and weekend breaks coming up that may prove tricky! I’m determined to fit it in as best as I can!

Handmade Wardrobe – I just have one goal with my handmade wardrobe this month and that is to make a dress for my colleague’s engagement party at the end of August. I have chosen the Simplicity Sewing Pattern 1690 – Misses’ Dress- Skirt & Top Leanne Marshall Collection Sizes: P5 (12-14-16-18-20) to use, and I have bought some black fabric that I think is the ideal texture and thickness for the shape of the dress. This week I am hoping to get it all cut out so that I can get it all sewn together over the next few weeks.

Pattern

Exercise – I haven’t got a set fitness plan for August but I do want to just get back into the routine of working out regularly. I already have my pole dancing class once a week, so I’d like to get back into doing a fitness DVD about 4 times a week and potentially even a Sunday morning run again too!

Slimming World – My Slimming World was right on track until I hit the 2st mark at the beginning of the month, and since then I haven’t been as strict as I should have been! I’m working hard to get back into my eating and exercising plan so that by the end of the month I *should* be tiptoeing into the 10s, which will feel a huge achievement as I will be on my final run down to my goal weight!

Spring Cleaning – The only spring cleaning goal that I have this month is to sort out my wardrobe. Since I have lost weight I have gone down a clothes size so now a lot of things I own don’t fit me. I want to find a day to try everything on and to get anything that no longer fits bagged up and off to the charity shop! Following this I will be able to write up a list of things that I will need to buy (now in a smaller size!) so that I have all of the necessary essentials to put together some basic outfits as I am rebuilding my wardrobe. Hopefully then my clothes will definitely be sorted and I can move onto spring cleaning another area in September at long last!

Wish me luck! Have you set any goals this month? Or are you working on any special projects? What have you been up to while I have been away? I’d love to know!

10 thoughts on “August 2015 Goals

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hehe I do love the pumpkin! I love all of the Halloween goodies…definitely my favourite holiday! I’ve had so much fun making everything for the swap! Ooh you’re more organised for Christmas than I am! I feel so far behind! One of my aims for September will be to get caught up!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha I don’t feel very well organised at the minute…so much to do and not enough time! It’s a good job I love being busy! The last fortnight has been equally chaotic but hopefully I’m back on track with everything now. Thank you 🙂 I’m at around two and a half down now…on my final run down to my target weight now and I’m feeling really happy with the results so far! The only downside is I now feel really ill if I eat anything too extravagant so no more meals out for us! At least it means I have no excuse but to keep up the healthy eating going forward!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’m well on track to reach my target weight in the next couple of months and I’m really pleased with the results I’m seeing so overall I’m thrilled! Haha everyone loves the pumpkin! He is irresistible!

  1. Ginny says:

    You sure have been busy! Congrats on finishing Barcelona sunset. It looks fantastic! So many color changes! I know you were doing the happy dance when you finished that one. Your dresses look so cute and you look great! I know your next dress will be gorgeous. Sorry to hear that life was stressful, but totally understand that blogging has to take a sidebar sometimes. Glad to see you back.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you! I was thrilled to bits that I had finished it in time for her birthday! I do hope she likes it! Yeah life just doesn’t cooperate at times! The last couple of weeks have been equally busy preparing my dress for the engagement party and presents but *fingers crossed* all of the celebrations for this year are over now so I can finally make a proper start on Christmas!

  2. Resa says:

    Everything you’ve been able to accomplish is just astounding! No wonder you’re busy and stressed. I hope the rest of August and September are a little less stressful for you, but stay just as productive.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha yeah I like to keep myself busy! The end of August proved just as chaotic hence the lack of posts again! Hopefully I’m getting back on track though! Will be writing up how I’ve done this week so hopefully I’ll have been just as productive over the last fortnight!

Leave a Reply

