May 2015 Crafty What Nots Box

Hello!

I can’t believe June is here already…just where did May go to? It has gone by so quickly that this is the first opportunity that I have had to show you the May Crafty What Nots box…and the June one will be turning up this week! What’s worse…I’ve hardly had the time to make anything from the May one yet! I was off to a bit of a slow start because James was away at the beginning of May and we usually sit down to do the projects together, so I didn’t want to make a start without him. We did manage to squeeze in one project when he got back from the US though, and it was out first papercutting project!

Cards

How adorable are this tiny cards? They were a really cute little project that was really quick and easy. It was a great project for someone new to papercutting to get in some practice – they aren’t incredibly neat but I’m thrilled with how they turned out! Me and James took it in turns cutting out a shape each to complete the cards together – we will have to invest in another craft knife! The purple inserts were also included in the box so once we had finished cutting we just had to tape the insert in and we had some lovely little notecards ready to go!

Papercutting

And look what Jenny included in the box! I’m going to need a hell of a lot of practice to produce anything this neat! Isn’t it stunning though? I love that she has mounted it onto some hot pink paper – she knows it is my favourite! I want to frame this and put it in my craft room for some lovely inspiration.

Papercutting 2

And the next step? The box included some larger papercutting projects which I can’t wait to make a start on! I’m especially looking forward to trying the lettering since it is so different from the other projects; I’ll keep you updated on my progress with them! I’m also keen to get stuck into some of the projects from my Papercuts book to explore more techniques. Does anyone know where you can buy papercut templates from? I’d love to work on some other more projects but I am rubbish at drawing!

Inspiration 1

As well as the papercutting projects there are some other great projects in the box that I want to try using some 3D flowers. I really like the hanging decorations on the inspiration sheet – I still use every inspiration sheet that I get to make the projects from the box!

Inspiration 2

The inspiration sheet also has come cool ideas for some cards to make using the pretty paper that is included in the box. I love the one with the bunting on it – it is really simple but really cute! I’ll be getting the box out again as soon as I get chance to finish making everything that I want to out of it, and I’ll probably be working on the next box at the same time too!

I can’t wait to see what the June box has in store! What is your favourite project from the May box?

3 thoughts on “May 2015 Crafty What Nots Box

  1. Jen says:

    So glad you’ve enjoyed the paper cutting! The notelets look Fab! You’ll be a paper cutting pro in no time!!! May boxes are on there their way!!
    Oh and as for templates there are loads of places to get them if you wish. I will try to tag them on my Facebook page later when on laptop.
    Xxx

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha yeah I have that problem…so many projects, so little time! Although the papercutting wasn’t as time consuming as I thought it would be actually…the little projects are surprisingly quick!

Leave a Reply

