A love affair with my sewing machine (including my first wearable!)

Since attending the blogger meet up in Dewsbury, I have felt inspired to dust off my sewing machine and finish some projects that have been ongoing for quite some time now. I’d put a few sewing projects on hold because I either still needed some bits and pieces to get them finished, or I hadn’t found a day that I could set aside to get my sewing machine out. However, recently I have felt motivated to get some of my abandoned projects finished and checked of my WIP list!

Cushion

The first project that I wanted to get finished was just a small one – my campervan cushion! My poor caravan cushion has been waiting for its partner for ages so I wanted to get it completed as I already had the pieces cut, so it was just a case of sewing everything together! I often think that sewing will take me a long time as I don’t do it very often, but when I sit down and put my mind to it I can fly through projects! It only took me a matter of minutes to stitch the design onto the cushion and to assemble it after all! I love the finished cushion though as it looks really cute but I do need to get a smaller cushion pad for it – it is looking a bit stretched with this one!

Quilt

The next project that I wanted to get a move on with was my quilt…how long has this one been on the go??? I have had all of the fabric sat around for ages with the squares cut and I was up to cutting the sashing but then it got packed away when I moved house and I couldn’t find it for ages! When I dug it out I kept it to hand so that I could finally make some progress with this one. I spent an evening cutting out the sashing then the next morning I assembled the quilt top – another one that was a lot quicker than I had expected! Although it isn’t finished yet I’m really pleased with the progress I have made. I am now ready to quilt (eek!) which is pretty scary but I’m excited about trying something new! My wadding had arrived so I just have to order my bobbinfil then I’m good to go! I really want this one finishing quickly because I have another two(!) quilts in various stages of planning and cutting at the moment! If you have any tips for first time quilters please let me know!

Tunic

After seeing all of the wonderful handmade clothes at the meetup, I decided to take the plunge and finally have a go at making something wearable. I’d been terrified for a long time that my sewing skills weren’t up to scratch to make something that I would actually wear without it having obvious signs of poor sewing and trial and error, but I realised that I couldn’t keep putting it off any longer. I chose this tunic fromΒ The Great British Sewing BeeΒ book as it was a simple beginner project and (if successful) it would be a great top to wear for work over summer. And the finished result…?

Top

Even I’m amazed how it turned out! Considering I’ve never made clothes before I was pretty impressed that I got the fit right, the front darts even and even the exposed zip isn’t too bad! I had a headache with step 7 of the pattern, trying to stitch the facing to the arm holes but it turns out I’m not the only one who thought the instructions were less than adequate, so there are some wonderful Youtube videos that saved me from burning the thing!

The fabric that I used was left over from what James bought me at Christmas for another project that I am still yet to finish! I really wanted to make a top out of this fabric though as it is so lovely and summery! Originally I was going to insert a white exposed zip, but as the fabric is slightly off white it didn’t look right. Fortunately I was also planning on making this top in another fabric so I had bought the pink zip too which I think adds a really striking feature to the back. The zip is slightly wonky at the neckline, but that is the only noticeable blip so I don’t mind (it’s also useful that I NEVER wear my hair up so no one will see it anyway!) Β I’m so pleased that my first dressmaking project went well though as it may have put me off if it went badly! Now I can’t wait to get started on more projects, including the ones that I bought fabric for at the meet up! Jersey cotton here I come!

23 thoughts on “A love affair with my sewing machine (including my first wearable!)

      • creaturecomfortquilts says:

        I am really in quilt mode, used to sew clothes long ago, now I don’t have much patience for fitting things to myself, as I am an odd size! You are quite prolific, love to see your projects.

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        I love trying new things…I think that is part of my problem! I dabble at almost every craft but I don’t dedicate much time to learning one in detail! I tend to just do which ever project takes my fancy, right no it seems to be anything that involves my sewing machine! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  1. Sanderella's says:

    Just lovely! I love my sewing machines too, but never have time to sew anymore! Need to make time and just do it!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I do find that I need to set aside a day of sewing, usually because I make a right mess doing it with thread and scissors and tracing paper everywhere! It takes a lot of tidying up so it’s not something I can do quickly!

      • Sanderella's says:

        Oh I hear you, and I always dislike having to tidy everything up when my project isn’t completed! Lol!! My cats never get into my things, but my mother never likes the mess πŸ™‚

  2. wendy says:

    the top looks great, well done!
    By the way, you don’t need bobbinfill to quilt, you can use ordinarly 50wt thread. make sure you baste really well, do you now how to baste or do you need some tips?
    (p.s. I never come back to check my old comments, so if you do want more tips, email me back and I’ll tell you all I know!)

  3. Thimberlina says:

    Love your cushions! Did you use a template or make it up yourself? You’re so lucky living near the park – such a great backdrop for the photos. Your top looks great with the contrasting zip.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ Ooh I visited Toronto a few years ago…such a lovely place! Yes I had a fun sewing day! I made some PJ bottoms too but they’re not quite finished yet, still need hemming! I’ll be posting photos of those soon too!

      • Jana says:

        Looking forward to this. πŸ˜‰ Toronto is for sure an awesome place. Spring is back now and we are enjoying sun, birds, and first flowers. πŸ™‚

  4. Ginny says:

    Congrats on all the great sewing projects! Doesn’t it feel great to finish a bunch of things at once? The RV pillows are adorable. Your top is very cute. The quilt top is great! Good luck with all of your other sewing projects.

  5. neela says:

    Hey Hannah, your sewing projects are brilliant. You”ve done an amazing job on the top. The fabric is cute and the zip is just genius! Looking forward to seeing more wearables from your Dewsbury stash! Nee x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you! I’m really pleased with how my sewing is improving πŸ™‚ I’ve sewn together one of the stretch jersey cardigans which I will be posting soon…I just need to finish off a few ends! I hate that job! x

Leave a Reply

