April 2015 Goals

Hello!

Last month I set myself some monthly goals to try and achieve everything that I wanted to in March. By setting myself the deadline of the end of the month I hoped that I would feel motivated to complete everything on my list to get it all done. Overall it didn’t pan out quite as I had hoped! However, I’m not going to let that put me off setting monthly goals; here I have written a summary of how my March goals worked out (or didn’t!) and what I want to achieve in the month of April. Hopefully although I didn’t get as much done as I was hoping to last month, I will still be able to achieve big things this month!

March Outcomes:

Once Upon A Time Sampler – Last month I set myself the goal of stitching the four remaining frames on the bottom of the sampler. Unfortunately I didn’t get all four done but I did manage two so that it something! Easter Weekend also spurred on my productivity with this project as I dedicated it to stitching this month’s design so I feel like I am off to a good start with this one in April, even though I didn’t manage to do everything I wanted to with it in March.

Storytime Sampler

Barcelona Sunset – Again, I had hoped to get a bit more of this done than I did. You can see from the photo below that I did make progress, but I was hoping to have that big gap in the middle filled in by the end of March! I just really wasn’t in the mood for cross stitching in March for some reason, but I do seem to have been bitten by the bug again the last few days so hopefully April will see a lot more productivity!

Barcelona Sunset

Cut Thru’ Caravan – I didn’t even bother photographing this one because the progress was so little! I did manage to fill in the doors that I was working on but that was it. I have been prioritising the other two projects over this one and I think it may go on a bit of a back burner while I am trying to finish Barcelona Sunset.

Youtube – I pretty much achieved this one! I wanted to do a Youtube video once a week and in March I think I only missed one week which wasn’t bad. Getting into a routine with my videos has really helped me to plan out my videos more and to get back into filming and editing, although it has messed up my blogging routine a bit! I will need to practice balancing my routine to accommodate both a bit better but the next major step is to incorporate some variety into my Youtube videos, so if you have anything you would like to see please let me know!

Juicing – This one really slipped. I started off the month well but we ended up forgetting to make the juice for quite a few weeks then the fruit had gone bad. We do need to pick out some juice recipes again and get back into this again but I’m not going to make it a goal this month as I have a few other healthy goals instead, you can see them below!

Running and Exercise DVDs – I’m grouping these together because neither of these happened last month. Despite my best intentions I just didn’t do as much exercise as I was aiming to in March. I will be re-evaluating my aims for April!

Reading – I managed to finish the David Suchet autobiography and I actually really enjoyed it. Then I moved onto American Psycho and despite being almost half way through the book I still can’t get into it. Because of this it put me off reading for a while so I’ve not read anything really for the last few weeks. In my attempt to get back into reading I’m going to switch books (again!) to try and find one that I can get absorbed into…ideally something shorter than American Psycho too! And then I can come back to it for another go.

April Goals:

Once Upon a Time Sampler – As I have already stitched the design for this month the aim is just to get those last two frames done then I will be one happy bunny! I’m leaving the banner until I have finished the Barcelona Sunset.

Barcelona Sunset – This month the aim is to complete the current quarter so I am on track to finish for Mum’s birthday in September!

Cut Thru’ Caravan – I’m not setting myself a goal for this one this month, any progress I make with it is a bonus but I want to make sure I am well on track with my Mum’s cross stitch before I spend too much time on this right now, I don’t want to miss my deadline of September!

Crochet – As March was National Crochet Month I dabbled with crochet again for the first time in ages! I made a couple of things for my penpals but I don’t want to spoil the surprise! However, going back to it reminded me of how much I enjoyed it so I would like to make a little crochet project this month if I get chance…keeping my fingers crossed!

#Postcirlce – This month I WILL get up to date with my #Postcircle letters…I have three now that I need to reply to so I need to make sure that I reply to them this month so that my lovely pals aren’t waiting!

Exercise – As my plans last month didn’t really work out I’m going to start with a simpler goal then build up. This month I was to spur my plan into action by going out for a walk on my lunch breaks. I’ve just started doing this the last week and I really want to keep it up. This combined with my dance class once a week and an exercise DVD once a week will be my starting point!

Slimming World – I recently signed up to Slimming World Online (Easter week was REALLY the wrong week to start!) with the aim of eating healthier and losing some weight. Switching my constantly-on-your-feet-retail-job to an always-sitting-and-snacking-office-job has really had a bad impact on my health. I was backwards and forwards to the doctors for a long time before getting a hospital referral. Luckily nothing major was discovered, but it was enough to make me reconsider my lifestyle choices. It is far too tempting to sit at my desk all day grazing on biscuits and this combined with less time on my feet has made me gain weight pretty quickly. I was feeling really unhealthy and pretty lethargic all of the time but my Mum had seen some great results with Slimming World so I wanted to give it a go. This month I really want to get off to a good start with it by making it a regular part of my lifestyle combined with my goal of exercising more. To get down to a healthy weight where I will feel happier and healthier I need to lose the best part of three and a half stone so hopefully my first month will see me making a good start!

Reading – This month my aim is just to read one book and really enjoy it! I’ve spent so long reading books for University that I seem to have forgotten that I can now read just because I love reading! I keep getting bogged down in books that I don’t enjoy and my inner Literature Student keeps trying to force me through to the end no matter what! This month I just want to pick up a book and read it and love it; I have plenty of books waiting to be read so now the main challenge is finding that book!

Get Organised – The last few months I haven’t felt as organised as I usually do, and I don’t know if this is because I have been making fewer lists or if it is because I haven’t been using my Filofax recently, but this month the aim is to get more organised to increase my productivity. Now that I am trying to juggle crafts with a healthier lifestyle as well as my housework I want to spend more time planning out my new routine to make sure that I achieve everything I have set out to do…keep your fingers crossed that it works!

Spring Cleaning – It’s that time of year again isn’t it! Along with getting organised, another huge priority for me is having a good spring clean. We always seem to have too much stuff and not enough space so I really want a good declutter as part of the cleaning process. I spent yesterday making a start with my wardrobe and it always feels good to have a clear out and to make some more space so I am hoping to continue this throughout the month so that we can have a clean and tidy house without an excessive amount of stuff!

Hopefully I’ll be able to achieve a few more of my goals this month and I’ll keep working hard to make sure that I do! In the mean time, if you have any tips that will help me achieve any of my goals be sure to let me know!

Have you set yourself a goal this month? Let me know what it is and how you get on!

16 thoughts on “April 2015 Goals

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I seemed to get into a good routine towards the end of last year then this year it has gone to pot again! Hoping to get back on track because I seem to be forgetting everything at the minute!

  1. Natalie says:

    I really like the idea of your goal posts! I think it is something that I may start doing! I’ve just started to cross-stitch after not doing it for yearsโ€ฆyours look absolutely amazing! Good luck with your April goals ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thanks! I’m working on the theory that if I make my goals public knowledge I will feel obliged to work on them ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha. Ooh how are you enjoying returning to cross stitching? I have well and truly been bitten by the bug! Although I fear I may have bitten off more than I can chew with these projects! Good luck with your goals and projects too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Christine says:

    Well done in setting yourself goals and working towards achieving each one. You can do anything you want to as long as you set your mind to it. I came across this FREE online 2 week exercise program that this guy was offering back in June….after I completed it I had lost 13lbs so of course I continued on and after 5 mths I’d lost approx 4 1/2 stone – 28 kilos – 62 pounds. I went from an English size 20-22 down to a 16. I feel SO much better, have lots more energy and……have a new wardrobe lol.

    Now I just keep up with what I’ve learned….eating clean 80% of the time and the other 20% I have the things I want and like and exercising almost 10-15 mins a day at home – HIIT – almost every day. It works! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Wow what a wonderful achievement! that’s really impressive! I had my first weigh in today and I’ve lost 3lb which is amazing considering I have only changed my diet slightly and Easter fell right in the middle! My aim is to lose almost three and a half stone so I’m off to a good start and I’m going to add exercise to my programme this week too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Christine says:

    One of my current goals is to complete this FREE online Business Admin course I’v just started. It’s a 16 week course but you can do it in less if you choose to. I studied the first unit in one day and then left it til after Easter then completed my first assessment yesterday. I have 6 units I need to pass in order to get my certificate but I figure this will help me by giving me more skills and help me to find a job where I can get more involved.

  4. Ginny says:

    I don’t really set any monthly goals. Nothing I write down anyway. I probably should. It would be easier to work towards and maybe accomplish goals in small chunks with the monthly goals rather than the yearly goals I set for myself. For my stitching, my goal this year is to get things finished and off the scroll frames. So far I have 3 finishes, but I also have a few new starts that I didn’t count on. ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a lot of goals for the month, and I think you did well with what you did accomplish. I hope that you are able to meet your April goals.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ writing them down for me helps me focus, plus if they are public I feel like I need to work hard to achieve them! I always set myself a lot of goals because I like to push myself to get lots done, then anything left over just rolls over to the next month. I don’t know where this month is going so far though…it’s flying past! Eek!

Leave a Reply

