February Incoming and Outgoing Mail

Hello!

Many of you know that I am an avid snail-mailer and I love receiving letters and postcards in the post. Having recently posted about my New Year Pen Pal Boxes, you already know that I am involved with #Postcircle and if you look waaaay back to June 2013, you will also find my post about Postcrossing!  I’ll let you read the previous posts if you want an overview of what Postcrossing and #Postcircle are, but I thought I would share my incoming and outgoing mail from February with you!

Outgoing:

This butterfly postcard is on its way to Spain making a 981 mile journey to Menorca!

Postcard 2

 

I loved this ‘London Town’ postcard from Paperchase so much that I sent out two of them. One of them took 8 days to reach New Jersey in the US, 3,438 miles away, and the other one took 12 days to travel 1,143 miles to Belarus!

 

Postcard 1

I also sent several of my Lucky Dip Club postcards this month, including this cute seal one travelling 5,310 miles to California.

 

Postcard 3

 

This bird-themed postcard is travelling 672 miles to Germany…

Postcard 4

…and these unicorns are travelling 1,560 miles to Russia!

Postcard 5

 

I’m really enjoying throwing myself into Postcrossing again, and I am trying to get into the routine of posting three postcards every fortnight to get a cycle of postcards travelling. Once I have built up this routine, it will gradually mean that I have a steady flow of postcards incoming and outgoing.

Incoming:

As well as sending lots of mail, I have also received some wonderful postcards in return! I absolutely love this brilliant image that came from Germany, 610 miles away!

Received 1

 

On the same day I received another postcard from Germany, this one showing a lovely snowy scene. Coming from Hamburg, this one travelled 477 miles.

Received 2

 

One of my favourite postcards that I received was this black and white photograph of Toni Morrison in New York, taken by Annie Leibovitz. It combines my love of photography, writing and travel all in one postcard and I think it is the perfect choice for me! This one travelled a whopping 4,724 miles from Utah!

Received 3

This wonderful card came to me from Daria in Belarus. I was really pleased as it was the first card that she sent to the UK and I was thrilled I was the person to receive it! It travelled 1,183 miles in 8 days!

Received 4

 

Another stunning black and white postcard was sent to me from Oxana in Russia. It is a vintage photograph of Red Square in Moscow dating from the 1890s! It is a beautiful image and is one of my favourite postcards in my collection! It travelled 1557 miles from Moscow in 10 days!

Received 5

 

The final postcard that I received this month was from Faatimah in the US. She sent me this wonderful New York City postcard oof Times Square taken through a fisheye lens. I love cityscapes and I also love fisheye photography so it is great for me! I was lucky enough to visit NYC a few years ago but I lost all of my photos so I am so happy to have this wonderful postcard to add to my collection!

Received 6

As well as my Postcrossing mail, I also received a lovely #Postcircle parcel from Lorna. Inside was a wonderful collection of postcards, a tiny tin of tea (a tin which will be storing my needles once it is empty!) a fortune telling fish, a chocolate bunny and a pretty scented doll to hang in my wardrobe. It was a lovely parcel to receive and the top of my ‘to do’ list for March is to put together a little parcel in return! See it next month on my March post summary!

InstagramCapture_cfa5378e-05ac-4747-ace4-a4c105492fcf

In other happy mail news, look at the stamp I found in T. K. Maxx! As soon as I set my sights on it I knew that it was leaving with me! Plus, it was the only one left! It was also right in front of their last pack of Papermania inks! I have been wanting to diversity my ink collection for a while (it is predominantly just black) and this set features 20 lovely colours so how could I say no? For an added bonus, both of them cost less than £10 together! Win!

Stamp

Do you snail mail? What are your favourite things to receive in the post? Do you use Postcrossing?

15 thoughts on “February Incoming and Outgoing Mail

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hello, yes the project is in the process of changing hands as the original founder has stepped down so there is a lot of behind the scenes going on at the moment by the women who has taken over. Plus the project is growing that rapidly they have a massive number of applications coming through right now! I’m sure they will be in touch soon and it is definitely worth the wait 🙂 x

  1. clumsykristel says:

    I love getting and sending mail, but I don’t really get too much! I’m not part of any groups that do it though, so that probably doesn’t help 😀 I suppose someday I should look into it.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      You can’t beat getting mail 🙂 Postcrossing is a good place to start as you can commit to it as much or as little as you want by just sending the odd postcard here and there or sending lots 🙂

  2. devalayer says:

    Love the Lucky Dip Club cards – one day I’ll remember to get up early enough to join before they’ve all sold out!
    That stamp is too cute, need to take a look at my local TKMaxx, thanks for the tip!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha I was lucky enough to buy a rolling subscription when the first launched and I’m so glad I did! They are notoriously tricky to get hold of now!
      I do love the stamp! It was the only one I spotted but it was such a lucky find! I love it 🙂 I hope you manage to get your hands on one!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Yes I love snail mail! Postcrossing is great because it doesn’t take very long to sit down and write a postcard 🙂 I do spend longer on my penpal letter though…it’s lovely and relaxing to sit and write a nice long letter!

Leave a Reply

