Our Valentine’s Weekend!

Hello! Did you all have a lovely Valentine’s weekend?

Because Valentine’s Day was on a Saturday, me and James decided to make the most of it by having a relaxing Valentine’s weekend!

I kicked off my weekend plans by taking a sneaky half day holiday on Friday afternoon to go home and bake James a Valentine’s cake. I bought a wonderful Wilton Heart Tasty Fill Tin Pan Cake Non-Stick Baking Tins Create Filled CakesΒ to bake a cake with a filled heart shape running round the cake. I opted to make an angel cake, as it is mine and James’s favourite, and filled it with a strawberry marshmallow mousse and covered it in white chocolate butter cream and white chocolate ganache. As I was pushed for time, I didn’t manage to get it looking quite as neat as I wanted, but for what it lacks in presentation, it definitely makes up for in taste! James was really surprised to find a cake waiting for him when he got in!

Cake

The next stage of operation Valentine’s Weekend was to have James’s presents ready and waiting when he got up on Saturday morning. This phase didn’t quite go to plan, as on Friday evening I was exhausted and ended up having an early night, meaning that I had to sneakily (and unsuccessfully) get the presents out of the wardrobe and downstairs at 6:30 on Saturday morning before James woke up. My sneaking skills weren’t up to scratch though and I just ended up waking him up! I did tell him not to look though so that I could still get the presents downstairs without him seeing. This is what he came down to find:

James's Presents

James’s main present was something that I had put together inspired by a pin on Pinterest. I bought a large popcorn bucket from eBay and stuffed it full of sweets and drinks. I also added two films off our list of films to watch this year and we have a ready made date night! I specifically told him not to make any plans for Saturday evening πŸ˜‰

James's Hamper

I also bought him two smaller presents and wrapped them up in some cute heart covered tissue paper. I had been looking everywhere for a gift bag the right size to put them in, but I hadn’t had any luck. I was really pleased when I found this hessian bag from Card Factory that was the perfect size, ideal for Valentine’s and reusable! I don’t think James will be using it out and about, but I might well pinch it for shopping πŸ˜‰

James's Presents Wrapped

 

But what was inside the tissue paper? I bought him a Zelda Amiibo for his Wii U. I bought him a Link one for Christmas and he has used it all the time, so I thought he might like another one to add to his growing collection! I also bought him a Chicago travel guide, as he will be travelling there for a conference in May.

James's Presents Unwrapped

James said that when choosing my presents he went with the theme of ‘things that remind him of me’. He certainly made some good choices! I got a HUGE box of my favourite chocolates, a purple LAMY Al-Star fountain pen, a Parisian photo album and a Me to You Tatty Teddy figurine to add to my collection! The pen has been on my wishlist for ages and I was so pleased to receive it…I can’t wait to get writing some letters to my penpals using it! He bought the album to put our holiday photos in from our trip to Paris last November, so I will have to get them printed! The teddy is so cute and is wearing a dressing gown and a turban hair towel…he said it definitely reminded him of me. One thing that he really did get spot on was the card…I nearly chose that one for him! We must know each other really well!

My Presents

And here are all of our presents together! They all look really exciting! A big thank you to James for all of my wonderful presents!

All Presents

My Valentine’s treats did’t stop there though! To celebrate our first Valentine’s day in our own home, James wanted to cook me a three course meal! I came downstairs in the afternoon to discover this adorable handmade menu on the table listing our meal.

Menu 1

Here is a close-up of the menu, just in case you want to read it πŸ™‚

Menu 2

All of the food tasted amazing and I was ABSOLUTELY stuffed when we had finished. We started off with a cheesy garlic bread that James had made from scratch that morning. It was so good!

Cheesy Garlic Bread

After a bit of a break we moved onto the main course which is one James has made for me before. He spotted the recipe a couple of years ago on one of his favourite Youtube channels, and you can watch the video on how to make it here.Β It was really tasty and it’s been a while since we last had it so I really enjoyed it.

Bacon Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

To finish off the meal James picked one of my favourite desserts; lemon sorbet. It was a good choice after such a filling meal! James had made the sorbet on Friday evening, and Β it was lovely and light and refreshing.

Lemon Sorbet

 

After our meal we relaxed and let our food settle while we watched The Fault in Our Stars, one of the DVDs from the hamper that I put together for James, but we didn’t really touch the sweets…we were still pretty full from tea!

Our Valentine’s didn’t end there though! We made the most of the weekend by celebrating Valentine’s both Saturday and Sunday, as an excuse to go out and spend some time together, while exploring some of the places around our new home. James had booked a meal out for us, but I didn’t know where we were going! I didn’t where it was until we pulled up outside this adorable inn:

Shibden Mill Inn

Hidden away in a secluded corner was this quaint inn, which is where we were going for a Sunday Lunch! As soon as I got out of the car I could hear running water, and I discovered that the inn is right on the edge of a little stream. I couldn’t help but take a snap!

View

 

The place looked lovely from the outside, but obviously it was the food that we went for and it certainly didn’t disappoint! Both me and James chose the roast pork, which came with some roast veg, roast potatoes, crackling, a Yorkshire pudding, mash and black pudding (which I have to admit I didn’t eat!). The mash was incredible and creamy and the veg were beautifully seasoned and really tasty and obviously the meat was wonderful – we thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Roast Pork

 

We even managed to save some space for pudding and this was probably the wisest idea ever! We both selected (we obviously have the same tastes!) their ‘Jaffa Cake and Millionaire’s Shortbread’ pudding, which is possibly the best thing I have ever tasted! It somehow tasted exactly like a Jaffa Cake, but it wasn’t overly sickly so we could thoroughly enjoy it even after such a big main. It also cake with some homemade Jaffa Cake ice cream and a millionaire’s shortbread…it was so good I could have eaten another one!

Jaffa Cake and Millionaire's Shortbread

To finish off our afternoon we had a quick trip to our local outlet before we went home. We were supposedly just ‘window shopping’ but somehow when we reached the Yankee Candle store ‘window shopping’ turned into just plain old shopping. I had got it into my head that we had a cupboard full of votives, and no votive holders. I found a purple glitter one that I had been eyeing up over Christmas, reduced to just Β£1.50, so of course I had to have it! James liked a Valentine’s box containing three votives and a red votive bucket, but I preferred a pink Valentine’s bucket with a cut out heart…so somehow we ended up leaving with all of them! And of course we got home to discover we did in fact have 6 votive holders already that I had completely forgotten about…never mind!

Yankee Candles

Shopping was a nice way to round off our afternoon though, before going home to watch E.T. the other DVD that I had got for James’s hamper. As we ate our meal at lunch time, this left us plenty of time to make space for the hamper goodies this time round!

I had such a wonderful weekend and I owe James a HUGE thank you for making it happen!

Did you have a good Valentine’s weekend? What did you do? Or don’t you celebrate Valentine’s? I’d love to hear your thoughts πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Our Valentine’s Weekend!

  1. loobyloucreations says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend, i do not celebrate it as it to me is such a forced upon day to show someone you love them and seems to me people have to get more elaborate with their gifting. Haha i sound awful i know, i tell my hubby everyday i love him so everyday is valentines day lol

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      We did thank you πŸ™‚ I know that a lot of people like that and choose not to celebrate it. I just think it is a nice excuse to do something special once a year πŸ™‚ we probably won’t make such a big deal of it when we get married and will celebrate the wedding anniversary more instead. We had a lovely time this year though and it was nice to just spend time doing things together πŸ™‚

  2. creative pixie says:

    Looks like you had a very busy but romantic weekend. My husband was away over Valentines so I had a girlie weekend my 2 girls.

  3. azurachan says:

    What a lovely and romantic Valentine’s Day you had. That Teddy Bear is really your trademark. Sweet. I did not celebrate Valentine’s. However we had a small and simple celebration towards our wedding anniversaries two days before Valentine’s Day. πŸ˜„

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Yes it was perfect! We had a lovely time πŸ™‚ that little stream was adorable! The whole area was really picturesque but unfortunately the day was really grey otherwise I would have taken more photos!

  4. *Wisher* says:

    ohhh what a lovely and perfect celebration filled with much love Hannah.. πŸ˜€ i love how james surprised you with his cooking and the short getaway is perfect too.. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

