Thank You To Secret Garden Quilting

You might remember that as part of my 23 Before 23, one of my goals for the year is to make a quilt. The quilt that really captured my heart was this spools quilt from the Liberty Love: 25 Projects to Quilt and Sew Featuring Liberty of London Fabrics book. I have been busy collecting the fabrics for this quilt, as I now have all of the 100 squares for the spool centres, and three of the 5 fabrics for the spool ends, but I still have to choose the rest of these, pick 5 different white on white fabrics for the sashing and get the backing and binding fabric.

spools

Because I’ve spent a lot of time (and money!) choosing, buying and cutting this quilt, I am worried that I may spoil it by using it as my first ever quilting practice! Because of this, I have picked out an easier quilt pattern that requires less pieces to practice on.

The quilt that I have chosen is from Material Obsession: Contemporary Quilt Designs by Sarah Fielke and Kathy Doughty.

Quilt 1

 

I bought this book for my mum a few years ago, but I’ve given in and bought myself a copy too because it has some stunning patterns in it! Most of them are beyond my ability right now, but with some practice, there are several patterns that I would love to try.

The quilt that I have picked is the easiest of their designs, called Avalon, and it is ideal for beginners. It just uses 12 fat quarters, some sashing, backing and binding.

Quilt 2

 

I think the design is really effective but straight forward, so I feel confident approaching it as a beginner! I am eager to get started on it, and I have already cut out the fat quarters that I am going to use, and I have my sashing fabric ready to be cut.

Quilt 3

 

As is always the case, the trickiest part of making a quilt is choosing the fabrics! But one day when I was reading Ali’s blog at Very Berry Handmade I spotted the ideal fabric for it! Ali was running a giveaway in partnership with Secret Garden Quilting, for a bundle of Flo’s Garden fat quarters. Unfortunately I wasn’t lucky enough to win, but I did treat myself to the fabric anyway!

Quilt 4

 

I couldn’t resist the beautiful fabrics! And I was so thrilled with the service at Secret Garden Quilting, that I took the time to send over an email to say thank you! The prices for the products and postage are really reasonable and the delivery was very quick. The items came well packaged and the little bundle that I bought was tied in a cute bundle. There was also a little note thanking me for my order. In  my email, I mentioned that I was attempting my first quilt using the fabric and Lucy responded saying that I could get in touch if I had any questions! I really loved the friendly, personal service and I will definitely be shopping from Secret Garden Quilting in the future!

I am really hoping that when pay day calls again in a couple of weeks, there is still plenty of stock left in the range so that I can purchase some more to use for the backing and binding fabric!

20 thoughts on “Thank You To Secret Garden Quilting

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’m so pleased with them! I’m hoping to stitch the quilt top next week or the week after (depending how efficient I am with my university essays!) so I will keep everyone updated! I think it will look great 😀

  1. fallfromgrace349 says:

    I am bowled over with how amazingly creative and beautiful the spool quilt is, have never seen one like that before. I totally agree with you about the design you have chosen, its really effective and will be gorgeous in those fabrics. How exciting! 🙂

  2. Kristel says:

    Looking forward to seeing how you move along with this!

    When you’re done with this quilt, you’ll probably have some leftover fabric, which you could use to make up some practise blocks from the Liberty book. Are you using Liberty fabrics for it or something else?

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Ooh that’s a good idea! I hadn’t thought of that! I am using Liberty fabrics for the centres of the spools but other fabric for the rest of it due to the cost! It will definitely be a ‘liberty’ quilt though! I’m so excited!

  3. emma says:

    definitely just spent more than I should have at Secret Garden… OH WELL. hahah.

    I’m also just starting quilting (well, will be once uni is over) so I’m excited to see how much better yours will be than mine!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      You just reminded me that I needed to order my binding and my backing fabric! Goodbye £50… I’m glad I have it all though! Haha I highly doubt that! No matter how much sewing I do, the sewing machine still terrifies me! That thing has a mind of its own…

  4. frilka says:

    I am looking forward to seeing your quilt finished … quilts have and do intrigue me … but somehow did not get round to making one for myself yet … x

  5. Lucy Gurney says:

    Hi Hannah. I have only just seen your post. Thank you so much for taking the time to do it and for being so kind. I would love to hear how the quilt is going? I will also drop you an email. Lucy x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hi Lucy! Everything is cut but it is temporarily on hold while I move house this weekend but I am hoping that as soon as I get settled I’ll be able to sew it all together! x

Leave a comment