Valentine’s Day Treats!

Now that Valentine’s Day has been, I can finally share with you the project that I was working on for James! Throughout January I stitched away at this cute ‘Elements of Love’ design by The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery. I thought it was ideal for James with his interests in science, but the cute kawaii design definitely represented an element of me too! I also loved the pretty pastel colours. James was also thrilled with the design. He knew that he was getting a handmade gift, but he said that he wasn’t expecting a cross stitch so it was a surprise for him!
Edit 2

To add another element of fun to the present, I painted the frame in chalkboard paint and drew some designs on it. I wanted to make it look like a school chalkboard, so I added some equations and some ‘love graffiti’. It was quite hard to draw on with the chalk though…I possibly could have done to sand it some more before I drew on it! Here is the finished frame.

Edit 3

Sorry about the lighting in the photo, it was late by the time I had finished it and it needed wrapping! In some ways I prefer it without the chalk but James loves the personal touch so I’m glad that he is happy with how it turned out. It also got a bit smudged when I wrapped it.

Edit 1

As well as the frame, I got James a hoody that he had had his eye on for a while. It is an Asian Cosplay style design, and I couldn’t find anything like it in the shops here but I managed to track down the exact design that he had been looking at online. I also got him some tea (he has quite a collection of tea!) and I chose to order some by one of our favourite musicians, Emilie Autumn. He had seen it before and was intrigued by it, so I decided to get some sent over to the UK for him.

I was also spoilt on Valentine’s Day, as James turned up with these goodies for me:

Edit 4

A HUGE box of Lindt chocolates, and an adorable Me to You gift bag. And what was in the gift bag?

Edit 5

This adorable gingerbread house bag! I had been subtly hinting about this bag for a while and I was really excited to get it! It is the house from the fairytale Hansel and Gretel, and the flap on the pocket reveals more of the story…

Edit 7

I am in love with this bag and I can’t wait to find an occasion to use it!

Edit 6

I was then treated to a surprise meal out in York, but James wouldn’t tell me where we were going! It was all revealed when we arrive at Jamie Oliver’s Italian restaurant.

InstagramCapture_d3f61883-0ae4-4626-92df-50a75d88ba85_jpg

I love Italian food so I was really excited when I found out where we were going! Of course, I took some photos of my food to show you!

InstagramCapture_368728e5-d213-42fb-9881-6db36c6f6dda_jpg

Starter: Italian Bread Selection. Sooo much bread! I’m glad we got one to share! There were three varieties of bread served and they were all very yummy!

InstagramCapture_448dab01-03aa-4a16-8842-b871e55f26d6_jpg

Main: Carbonara. Carbonara is my favourite pasta dish and James said that he checked the menu before booking to make sure that they sold it! They certainly didn’t disappoint! There was grated lemon on the carbonara which is something that I haven’t seen before, but it gave it a zesty kick that was really enjoyable!

6tag_140214-173427

Pudding: Epic Brownie. It has ‘epic’ in the title. The picture and the description say it all really…

Edit 9

While we were there, I fell in love with the serving boards that they used! They were selling them on the way out, so we ended up getting one! I thought it will look lovely for serving bread on (although that’s not the intended use…) and right now I’m in the mood for buying house things…i might be moving out soon!

Edit 8

The final thing that James got me was this Me To You Bear Figurine. Every Valentine’s Day when we are out we go to H Samuels so that I can choose a figurine to remember the day and this year I picked this one because I had fallen in love with it before Christmas when I first saw it!

Edit 10

So here are all of my beautiful gifts together. I love all of my presents and I had an amazing day! I want to say a huge thank you to James for spoiling me! I hope he had a great day too!

Did you have a lovely Valentine’s?

14 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Treats!

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        It takes a bit of practice! This is the second time I stitched on black but I find that it is best to do it during the day with good natural lighting! I had to hold it up to the windows frequently to see which hole I was meant to be using! Once you get into the rhythm of it though, it does get easier πŸ™‚

      • fallfromgrace349 says:

        Yeah, I guess its methodical, I found the same when I stitched onto red aida, I used quite cheap aida originally and because it was difficult to see the holes, I kept creating holes! I changed the aida and it became a lot easier πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

