Productive Start to February!

I have had a productive start to February! Today was my holiday from work, before going back to University tomorrow. I have been pretty run down the last couple of days with some mystery illness (cold/throat infection type thing…) so I decided to have a relaxing day in my pjs. I can never quite justify doing nothing though, so I put my time to good use by doing some crafting. I made a gift for my pen pal Stef, but I will only share it once she has received it. I can show you my other project though. I took advantage of having the house to myself for the afternoon to work on a secret project for my Mum for mother’s day. I know that mother’s day isn’t until March, but trying to find time to do it in secret is tricky! I wanted to stitch her a fabric basket to put some paper goodies in it, and this is what I created:

Edit 1

 

I used some Nancy Drew fabric, as my Mum loved reading the books when she was growing up, then I read them with her when I was young too. I thought it would make a lovely box to hold her presents and I love how it has turned out. You can get the link to theΒ tutorial here. And here it is filled with her favourite scented Body Shop goodies!

Edit 2

 

I’m really pleased with it and hopefully February will continue to be productive! Have you done anything crafty this month yet?

18 thoughts on “Productive Start to February!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I made some last year that just used interfacing but the sides weren’t stiff enough so this time I used sew in fleece in between the outer and lining fabric instead…I got a much better result!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha! I used one fat quarter for the lining and one for the exterior. This didn’t leave enough for the base but to save money I used some black fabric that I already had for the base. The fabric is designed by Moda and quite easy to locate in the US on eBay or from online sellers etc. If, like me you are outside of the US it is worth Google searching ‘Moda Nancy Drew fabric’ because it does bring up a few options. You can always limit the search to your country too, that’s how I managed to find it, it just doesn’t give you as much choice from the range.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      That’s very true! She can use it to store beauty bits in it or her fat quarter collection…looks good and is practical! The idea gift in my mind πŸ˜‰ she was thrilled with it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

