A New Friend from Across the Pond

In December last year I noticed someone had signed up to The White Peach Blog’s penpal scheme and shared it to Facebook. I spotted it on my newsfeed and was instantly intrigued! Mary of ย The White Peach Blog has set up the mammoth scheme where penpals are randomly assigned for 2014, and then the aim is to write to your penpal once each month throughout the year, and to enclose a small gift for them. I loved the idea and signed up instantly! I have had a bit of a break from snail-mailing recently, but I loved the idea of getting to know someone across the space of a year, something which most swapping sites don’t allow you to do, as you only do one off swaps. I also felt that the commitment of one letter a month was reasonable and not too expensive. I didn’t have to think twice about signing up!

I was partnered with Stef from the US, and we have now exchanged our first letters. Mine was put together pretty hastily, as her birthday was 6th January, and I wanted to get my parcel to her as close to her birthday as I could…I was only a few days late! This is what I sent her:

Friend Across Pond 2

From the short description that I received from Stef to begin with, it seemed like we had a lot in common! She also likes crafts, reading and photography, so we were off to a good start! Since it was her birthday, I wanted to send her a special gift (it was pretty tricky to choose since we hadn’t written at all yet!) but I settled on this photo album from Paperchase because I thought it was rather cool and I liked it so I hoped she would too! I also enclosed a birthday card and a postcard of Cottingham.

The other day I was thrilled to receive my reply from Stef! She said that she liked the photo album (phew!) and the postcard is on the first page! She also collects postcards, so I think I will send a few more throughout the year ๐Ÿ™‚

Friend Across Pond 1

Stef sent me this lovely, colourful notebook (future blogging journal I think…) and a lovely letter with a camera on it. The card is from a shop caller Papyrus, which I was lucky enough to visit in Florida last year and it has some BEAUTIFUL stationary, so I was thrilled to receive some!

I am really enjoying having a penpal! I am already getting ideas of what goodies to send her next and I have started writing my letter ready to post at the beginning of next month ๐Ÿ™‚ It is wonderful getting the chance to write to people from other parts of the world and receiving something in the post that makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope Stef looks forward to our letters as much as I do!

If you would like a penpal for 2014, you can still sign up! Just click on the link at the top of the post ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “A New Friend from Across the Pond

Leave a Reply

