What I’ve Been Up To Recently…

Well, yesterday I handed in the final essay of the semester, which gives me two weeks off before I start semester too (that’s ignoring the fact that I have 30 books to read for next semester but still…) so I am enjoying (relative) freedom, around the reading and my overtime at work. Since I have been so bogged down in essays though, I haven’t had chance to share my recent activities on my blog. I have been doing quite a bit of crafting in general, and I have been making small steps towards some of my 23 before 23 goals.

Getting Organised/Having a Clear Out:

So, two of my goals were part of my aim to get myself organised and de-cluttered! While these are likely to take a long time to achieve completely, I have been making a start! I scoured Pinterest for some ideas on room organisation, and I created my Organisation Board, to get me in the mood. It certainly worked, because last week I had the urge to start my sorting with my wardrobe and drawers (which I generally hate…) I try to sort out my clothes pretty regularly, but they were well overdue. After a couple of hours pulling things out and trying things on, I was left with a bin bag for the tip and two boxes for the charity shop! There wasn’t masses to get rid of, but just clearing out some of my unnecessary stuff felt incredibly satisfying. I didn’t just stop there though…oh no! I put some of my Pinterest tips into practice to make my clothes storage work better for me. I began by adding some drawer dividers into my socks and underwear drawer, to prevent it from being such a free-for-all when I was getting ready in a morning.

Edit 1

My second drawer holds my t-shirts, hats, scarves and gloves, now nice and accessible.

Edit 2

My bottom drawer had an interesting make-over though, courtesy of a Pinterest tip! Someone had stored their jumpers so that you could see them all, rather than piling them on top of each other. I thought it was a great idea and it meant that I could fit even more into my drawer…I don’t know why this isn’t done by everyone!

Edit 3

I decided to buy myself a hanger for my decorative scarves (or summer scarves as mum likes to call them!) These are the scarves that serve no purpose in keeping you warm, but simply look very pretty. I have started building up a collection, which were residing in my t-shirt drawer, but I was concerned they would get creased or caught as the fabric is very thin. After clearing out my wardrobe though, I had some extra space to hang things, so I bought a hanger for them so they are not safely stored and easily visible in my wardrobe.

Edit 4

So while I have only made a small dent in my de-cluttering journey, I am very happy with the results and I am motivated to try more! Next stop…dressing table!

In terms of getting myself organised, I have been using my new Paperchase Organiser religiously! I am still in the process of personalising it until I am happy with it, but once I have achieved the look that I want for it, I will write a post about it…watch this space!

Edit 5

One thing that it has proved useful for though it to record my monthly goals in the front of it, so that I can see what my craft aims are and how I am progressing with them. This has given me a real focus on what I can/want to achieve, and I am being much more productive because of it!

Edit 6

Cross Stitch

I appear to have gone cross stitch crazy this month! I have found myself incredibly motivated to do some stitching, and I have been making good progress with my WIPs, but I have also been picking out *realistic* small projects for the next few months. My main goal of the month has been to get up to date with my Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Fairytale Sampler. After participating in their Woodland Sampler last year, I couldn’t resist joining in the next one! I have almost finished the January square, and I have made good progress with the border. My aim is to keep up to date with it each month, then I can work on the border as I am going, to make sure that I don’t fall behind. Now I just have to finish my dwarves (I keep calling them gnomes because James said that’s what they look like…) and I have to add the washing line between them then I am done! The February instalment arrives on the 1st!

Edit 7

Edit 8

Once I have finished stitching January, I want to return to my Woodland Sampler to finish my last two boxes. My aim to get these completed before the end of the month might be a little bit ambitious, but I know that I haven’t got far to go! I don’t feel so bad being a couple of months behind since I didn’t sign up to the sampler until April!

Edit 9

My next project is also set to be a Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery one (I really CANNOT resist their designs!) since I have just ordered my fabric to complete their Christmas on Gingerbread Lane. I know, Christmas projects in January… BUT it is incredibly cute and it means that I don’t need to rush it! I can’t wait for my fabric to arrive so I can make a start.

Edit 10

Since the fabric is coming from America, I have plenty of time to wait before it arrives, so I also have my eye on a couple of smaller projects to help me use up some of my stash (another goal, yey!) I want to make another pumpkin card like the one that I made for my parent, because I promised my friend Charlotte one this Halloween! I know I have ages to go yet but it should be a nice little project to fill in some time while I wait for my supplies.Β I also have my eye on this cute little owl design from the Β Just Cross Stitch Halloween special. I think the hanging decoration is so cute and it will put some more of my black evenweave to good use!

Edit 11

As well as these little designs, I have a couple of bigger projects to work on as gifts (another goal too!) I have had this bothy threads kit for AGES, with the intention of stitching it for my Grandparent. I want to make a start on it asap, to try and have it completed by Christmas.

Edit 13

I have also got the chart and supplies to start this Barcelona stitch (which will be the biggest I have ever done!) for my Mum’s 50th birthday. Luckily, I have allowed plenty of time to work on this one in secret, as he 50th isn’t until September 2015! You can get the chart here.

CITY0103--barcelona_L

Crochet

Since completing my beanies, my crochet has been on hold for a while. I have started these legwarmers though, and I am making slow progress with them. I am quite enjoying a project that I can easily pick up and put down for now, and I will get a wriggle on with them once I have caught up with my stitching projects! Another project to help me use up my yarn!

Edit 14

When I was sorting through my yarn stash the other day, I discovered all of the yarn that I had bought to make this cushion. I never started the project because I was missing a few colours, so I treated myself to the two that I was missing, and I now have this gorgeous collection ready to start it:

Edit 15

By the way, that wonderful little project bag is from the wonderful Fringe Association…one of my favourite blogs with a stunning shop! I treated myself to the bag in the January sale and I LOVE it!

Edit 16

Before cracking on with my cushion though, I want to make myself some of the bunting designed by Attic 24 using the leftover yarn from my blanket. I love all of the projects on Attic 24, and I made some bunting for a craft swap a few years ago and I’ve been meaning to make myself some ever since!

Knitting

Well, things are pretty slow going with my knitting. I am still working on my scarf, and my aim is to have knitted ten inches of it by the end of the month. This doesn’t sound very impressive, but I am still very much a beginner knitter and therefore PAINFULLY slow when knitting…

Edit 17

I also have the supplies to make another pair of Owl Gloves as a Christmas present, when I feel in need of a break! I think this scarf may take a long time…

I did manage to finish the Valentines present that I was making for James this week though. More on this later though, I don’t want to spoil the surprise…

16 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To Recently…

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Oh yes I have seen that! It is really handy to keep them this way, much easier to see what I have! It stops me from wearing the same clothes over and over again just because they are on the top!

  1. Kay says:

    Lol can we be begginer knitter scarf buddies?! You’re so busy though and achieving so much, I’m a bit jealous!
    You are however inspiring me to keep up with my projects πŸ™‚

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha I find that if I sit down and watch TV while I am knitting my scarf it grows really well, but when I want it to grow it doesn’t go anywhere! I think I will spend some time knitting tomorrow night πŸ™‚ Ooh keep going with them! Last year I blogged about so much that I wanted to do but finished so little! This year my aim is to really work on my projects to get them all done! I’m having so much fun at the moment though!

  2. yarnchick40 says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy! Some beautiful work there Missy. I’m doing the decluttering thing too, plodding along one little project at a time, so thanks for the ideas ~ the summer scarf rack is awesome. And that project bag…CUTE!!!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha yes I’m certainly keeping busy! We’ll have to see how long it lasts when I go back to uni in a couple of weeks! Just finished my January square so that’s something else off the list! I love the project bag too!!!

  3. Ginny says:

    I love all of the organization you have going on. You have lots going on and are still managing to fit in crafting. Kudos to you, girl! I love the scarf you are knitting and have downloaded the pattern for a future project. I do hate to just knit and purl-so boring and across so many stitches, but I love the way it looks. I loved the watercolor looking yarn in the pattern and may have to see if I can find some. The yarn you chose is a great color and will go with a lot.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha yes I’m making it my mission to get lots of projects completed this year! Last year I blogged about so much but I never seemed to finish anything! I want that to change this year! Yeah I thought the pattern looked really nice but simple. I do find it gets a bit tedious doing the same over and over again but I suppose it is a good way to learn! I also like it as a ‘pick up and put down’ project, whenever I fancy it! I fell in love with the colour of the one in the pattern but I couldn’t find or afford one the same! I think I will get a lot of wear out of it in the grey though πŸ™‚

  4. alexjayne says:

    Wow, you’ve been a busy bee! Very impressive πŸ™‚

    That sampler is absolutely adorable and despite me having far too many cross stitch WIPs I think I may have to sign up. Maybe. I’ll wait til a couple more people enable me …

  5. clumsykristel says:

    I have shelves rather than drawers, so my sweaters and tshirts and things are all stacked up, which is nice for seeing everything you’ve got! It’s a great idea if I ever do go back to drawers again, though. I don’t know why more people haven’t thought of stacking sideways πŸ˜€ (I guess it’s less stable if you’ve got a half empty drawer, but otherwise it works great.)

    Keeping yourself busy with all those projects πŸ˜€ The cross-stitches are all super cute. (There’s a craft my brain hates. I have one partially finished Dalek cross-stitch in a bag somewhere that I hope I never see again.)

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      It is very handy to be able to see them all! Usually I’d just wear the same ones that are on the top of the pile over and over again! Haha I love cross stitch but it can be pretty taxing at times!

Leave a Reply

