2014 Lust List: Craft Books

As a bookseller, new books come to my attention all of the time, and I am responsible for the craft section at work, I can say that browsing the internet for new craft books is ‘research.’ So, on a pretty slow day when I had finished all of the jobs I decided to have a browse of some of the new craft books due out in 2014. I was incredibly surprised at how many amazing titles were set for release! It is clear to see that crafts are growing in popularity, with so many new, good quality titles becoming available, and the next six months look like they are packed with some amazing releases!

I have narrowed down my (very) long wishlist down to ten titles that look absolutely amazing, and I am eager to get my hands on them this year. Most of them have not yet been released, but some of them came out towards the end of 2013, so I will share them in order of release date for you. You can click on the photos to be taken to the image sources.

1. Cut It, Sew It, Stow It: Organizers for Your Home
Released: 8th November 2013

So, one of my 23 before 23 this year was to get organised; one was to have a clear out of unnecessary stuff; and one was to craft with my stash; this book allows me to do all three!!! This lovely book has a range of designs that will help you to organise all areas of your house, allowing you to de-clutter on the way! There are also some designs that would make great gifts, and they give you the chance to try out new skills.

Get your copy here: Cut It, Sew It, Stow It: Organizers For Your Home (Annie’s Sewing)

2. Craft Show & Sell
Released: 19th January 2014

As I am beginning to look for graduate jobs, I am discovering that there are very few that appeal to me! More and more, the idea of selling craft items on the side is beginning to appeal to me! This books brings you into the world of some of the experts, sharing their tips and tricks for everything from business plans to organising your craft space!

Pre-order your copy here: Craft Show & Sell

3. DIY Chalkboard Crafts
Released 31st January 2014

I can’t believe that I STILL haven’t played with chalkboard paint! With its growing popularity, it was only a matter of time before some brought out a book like this! I am eager to see what projects they have come up with, and it is a good excuse to test out some chalkboard paint for myself 😉

Pre-order your copy here: DIY Chalkboard Crafts: From Silhouette Art to Spice Jars, more than 50 crafty and creative chalkboard-paint ideas

4. Mollie Makes: Making It!
Released: 6th February 2014

Again, this one caught my eye when I was daydreaming of crafting all day! And who can possibly know better than the wonderful team behind Mollie Makes? This pocket-sized book looks ideal to carry around, to pick up tips and tricks from. Designed to answer questions that you didn’t know that you had, it looks to be a great well of information for anyone looking into setting up a craft business.

Pre-order your copy here: Mollie Makes: Making It!: The hard facts you need to start your own business

5. Creative Ideas to Organize Your Home
Released: 13th February 2014

516Ng9ZwjTL._SX342_

Another book for getting me organised! This book helps you recycle and upcycle everyday items to turn them into handy items to help you organise your home. This looks to be a very unique book, and I am eager to see what sort of projects are inside it.

Pre-order your copy here: Creative Ideas to Organize Your Home

6. Washi Tape
Released: 1st April 2014

61RK+jro49L._SX342_

Like the chalkboard paint, Washi Tape is another craze that was destined for a book! I have loads of Washi tapes in my collection and I am constantly looking for projects to use them in. I am desperate to see what new ideas this book has to offer!

Pre-order your copy here: Washi Tape: 101+ Ideas for Paper Crafts, Book Arts, Fashion, Decorating, Entertaining, and Party Fun!

7. So Jane!
Released: 10th April 2014

This book combines two of my biggest loves, literature and crafts! I love my classics and, although I haven’t read much Jane Austen, I do want to read some more, so while I’m reading, I might as well as be crafting too! Nothing could be better in my opinion…

Pre-order your copy here: So Jane!: Crafts and Recipes for an Austen Inspired Life

8. The Quilter’s Palette
Released: 1st May 2014

As a novice quilter, I find it incredibly difficult to work out what fabrics to use! For any sewing project I attempt, I am always conscious that I haven’t got a clue what I am doing when matching fabrics! This book is designed to help though, presenting you with swatches to make you feel confident when matching colours and textures. How can any quilter live without this???

Pre-order your copy here: The Quilter’s Palette: A Workbook of Color, Texture Techniques, and Effects

9. Scrappy Hooked Rugs
Released: 1st May 2014

I have been considering making a hooked rug for a couple of years now, but I have never managed to find a kit that has taken my fancy, but one thing that I had never considered was making my own! Not only do you get the opportunity to design your own unique rug, but you get to use up your yarn stash in the process! How amazing is that???

Pre-order your copy here: Scrappy Hooked rugs: Making the Most of the Wool in your Stash

10. Create Your Own Online Store in a Weekend
Released: 5th May 2014

17020918

Although I am interested in setting up an online store, I haven’t got a clue where to start! I am fortunate enough to have James to take care of all of my technical messes, but it would be useful to have a beginners guide to give me an idea of what I am doing! This one promises to be straight-froward for those of us who aren’t technical minded!

Pre-order your copy here: Create Your Own Online Store in a Weekend: Using WordPress and Other Easy Tools

So those are my ten picks coming out of the next few months! As soon as they are available, I am eager to get as many of them as possible so that I can share some reviews for you!

Are there any craft books/items you want to get your hands on in 2014?

14 thoughts on “2014 Lust List: Craft Books

  1. *Wisher* says:

    these books are fantastic.. and thank you for sharing the review.. cos normally it will take another 6 more months to reach the stores here (at where i am) and I think i’ll just get them off amazon later.. 😉

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Ooh I’m glad I could help! I’m hoping to do more detailed reviews if I can get hold of them as soon as they come out 🙂 I can’t believe how long they take to get to your shops! How unfair!

  2. Ginny says:

    Thanks for sharing all the books you found to be released soon. I have so much washi tape, I just might need the Washi Tape book to see the 101 things I can do with washi tape 🙂

Leave a Reply

