22 Before 22: Bake Ten New Recipes

Wow, it feels like a lifetime since I last crossed something off my 22 Before 22 list! I really need to get a wriggle on! I can now cross the ‘bake ten new recipes’ goal off my list though! Unfortunately I haven’t been able to keep up with Stephanie Pomfrett’s baking challenge of baking two recipes a month, but I have managed to bake ten new recipes this year.

Yesterday me and James had a baking session that brought me up to my goal of testing out ten recipes. We baked two new recipes, the first one coming from one of my favourite baking books, Marian Keyes’ Saved by Cake.

9780718158897

 

James picked the ‘Chocolate Cheesecake Cupcakes’ recipe, which was surprisingly quick and easy! It only took a few minutes to mix it all together and put them in the bun cases…my kind of baking! As usual, we weren’t going for points for presentation…

WP_20130731_008

I haven’t been able to try one yet as they needed to set in the fridge over night but I am very excited about trying one of these tiny cheesecake cupcakes! The even have chocolate chips in πŸ˜›

Our second recipe was my choice, and it was the first recipe that we have tried from Peggy Porschen’s Boutique Baking.

final_boutique_cover__48017_zoom

 

I picked up this book after it first came out because I fell in love with the simple but elegant designs that looked easy enough for a beginner like me to do. We didn’t attempt anything that needed decorating this time but we did make something incredibly delicious!

WP_20130731_007

 

Chocolate Crunch Cake with Marshmallows and Pistachios!

These I have tasted and they are amazingly yummy! They are like Rocky Road without the raisins and fruit. This was another super quick recipe where everything just needed mixing and putting in the fridge! It was nice to have a baking session that didn’t last all day for a change! As much as I love baking, I did feel happier and less guilty still having time to get some jobs done around it!

I’m looking forward to another baking session soon, as well as getting some more things crossed off my 22 Before 22 list! I have now crossed 7 items off the list, which is less than I would have liked but I am still happy with what I have achieved…hopefully I will get a few more crossed off in the next few weeks πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “22 Before 22: Bake Ten New Recipes

  1. Amiguruthi says:

    I LOVE Marian Keyes. What’s the Saved by Cake book like? I know it was her dealing with depression book, but since I’m not really a baker I never added it to my collection of her novels. is it worth getting anyway?

    Congrats on ticking one off! How long have you got before the big day? x

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I have never read any of her fiction so I can’t say that that was the reason that I picked it up. Other than the introduction which talks about her depression briefly, it it basically just a baking book but it has some really unusual recipes in it. I’m not sure it would be much use to you if you don’t bake a lot but I would certainly recommend having a look just in case anything catches your fancy!

      I am 22 on the 12th December so I still have a few months to cross off some more yet!

  2. kiwirach says:

    oooh, that second recipe looks yummy – i have a few variations on that but all involve melting chocolate and mixing it with nice things and setting it in the fridge!. i just might have to make myself some when i house sit in a few weeks!.

Leave a Reply

