Sew Inspired

After watching The Great British Sewing Bee on Tuesday, I have been feeling inspired to attempt some dressmaking. Recently, Burda Style have been sending me emails featuring their latest pattern collections and I haven’t been able to resist them! Their latest collections were the Yacht StyleΒ Collection and the Retro Queen Collection, both of which had some stunning pieces. I particularly liked the Yacht Style Collection, and these were some of my favourite pieces, click the image for the link:

107_0413_B_large

Back Lace Top

This top is simple but looks really affective and, even better, pretty straight forward for beginners! I think I have found my starting point!

Lace Shorts

Lace Shorts

These shorts are adorable! I would love to make these, so I’ll have to start building up my skills!

Stretch Dress

Stretch Dress

This dress is stunning but definitely way beyond my ability…maybe in a few years time I will be able to revisit this one with a bit more confidence!

I fell in love with the collection so much I went out to buy the magazine that features both the Yacht Style Collection and the Retro Queen Collection, as well as a collection of business wear, a plus size collection and a collection for men. All this for less than Β£5!

BURDA-STYLE_NO-4

 

The magazine has a pull out section featuring the instructions and patterns for the 53 projects that are featured. It was amazing value for money and, even though the projects are pretty advanced for me now, I am looking forward to trying them after a bit of practice!

 

7 thoughts on “Sew Inspired

  1. knitish says:

    I love Burda style magazine! Not only are their designs great they also almost always include one “instructional” pattern which is usually printed on the pattern sheet in pink. These are great for beginners as the instructions are very detailed and easy to follow and the projects help build your sewing skills. Good luck on your sewing!

  2. Ginny says:

    I’ve not seen the magazine, but it looks interesting. I love all the patterns you showed above. I think that you will learn more as you sew more, so I say pick something and try it out.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I love it, they produce several different magazines including one for teens and a plus size one so they really have something for everyone! They have some stunning patterns and plenty of them are aimed at novices so I am spoilt for choice! I completely agree, the best way to learn is by doing and practising! Once payday arrives I will get some fabric and try tackling my first project πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

