Looking Forward to London

So, one of the items of my 22 before 22 list is to go to Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre in London. This one crept onto the list after I noticed that my favourite play, Macbeth, is being performed this season. Well, when the tickets went on sale in February James was straight on to ordering us a pair for our two year anniversary in June!

WP_000504

I am really excited to go and we have now got the hotel booked and we are just waiting to be able to buy our train tickets, then we are set to go! The great thing about ordering tickets from The Globe was that it allowed us to order a programme when we booked the seats, so that is one less expense to worry about on the day, and a bit more money to spend in the gift shop!

There are a few other things I want to do on the trip such as visit Covent Garden as I love it there and I want to return to the National Gallery as I went on an A-Level Photography trip and we didn’t get to spend anywhere near enough time there! Plus, James wants to go on a boat tour on the Thames so it looks like we have a lot to squeeze in to just a few days!

And as if we weren’t busy enough, I have booked us another theatre trip while we are there!

WP_000503

Yep, we’re going to see The Mousetrap by Agatha Christie!

While the trip to London was planned for me to visit The Globe, going to see The Mousetrap is really important to me. I booked the tickets on a whim after the sale of my Nanna’s flat finally went through, more than eighteen months after she passed away. While it was a sad day to finally see it go, it came a a huge relief to us all after the first sale fell through and the numerous problems we have had along the way. Once the money had been divided between my mum and her two sisters, my mum gave me the money to pay for my masters that I want to do next year and my brother got some money to put towards his undergraduate degree that he will be starting in September. After that, she gave us Β£100 each to spend on whatever we wanted to. I knew that I wanted to put at least some of it towards something that my Nanna would have approved of, rather than frittering it away, which is why I decided on The Mousetrap.

My Nanna always had a love for Agatha Christie books and must have read them all multiple times! This love was passed on to my Mum who grew up reading them (ironically, the first one she read was The Murder of Roger Ackroyd…before she had ever met my Dad and become an Ackroyd!) Because the passion was so strong in my family and with my love of reading, it was inevitable that I was going to catch the Christie bug too and it is all down to my Nanna! I had been debating seeing something on the West End while we were in London as, I have paid Broadway a visit but never the West End, and while I was considering possibilities, I remembered that The Mousetrap existed. When my mum was little, my Nanna took her to see it and I knew that I would love to see it, and I have also got James hooked on Chrisite – or Poirot at least – so when my Mum gave me the money I knew exactly what I wanted to use it for.

The play is the longest running play in the world since it began in 1952, having run continuously since it was first performed! We will be seeing it performed at St. Martins Theatre, which, from the pictures I have seen, looks absolutely stunning!

You might remember back in December when I shared my 21st Birthday presents with you, that my Nanna had been incredibly organised and bought me a 21st birthday present before I had even turned 20! And I had the pleasure of opening a present from her on the day that I turned 21. Well my parents gave me the money for the trip to London for my 21st, so I would like to think that the trip to the theatre is an extra present from my Nanna and I know that, had she been around to choose what she bought me, she would have chosen exactly the same gift! I can’t wait for June to arrive so that I can enjoy my holiday after a tough year at university! Just a bit of bad planning though…we will be in London on results day…oops! Hopefully we will be celebrating though, and what better way to do it than at The Globe!

The rest of the money from my Nanna will be going towards my End of Year Ball ticket πŸ™‚

 

Related Articles:

8 thoughts on “Looking Forward to London

  1. Vix says:

    You’re gonna love the Globe, it’s incredible! My eyes kept wandering from the stage to look out at the stars πŸ™‚ And the Mousetrap is an awesome choice too, I love Agatha Christie and the play is so well done. Enjoy!

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Love Macbeth, and to see it at the Globe- brilliant. You will so love the Mousetrap- but remember “Don’t tell anyone who did it!”. Have a fabulous weekend in June!

  3. Ginny says:

    Sounds like you have a wonderful anniversary trip planned in June. Lots of things to see and do. I look forward to hearing about it on the return.

  4. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Sounds like a spectacular trip! More than a little jealous here, if only I could afford the plan tickets…

Leave a Reply

