More Last-Minute Knitted Gifts: A Review

cover_front

Author: Joelle Hoverson
Genre: non-fiction, crafts, hobbies, knitting
First Published: 2011
Pages: 144

As a person who is new to knitting, I am constantly looking for quick and easy projects that I can make to practice new techniques without losing momentum. I also spend a lot of time looking for inspiration for simple projects that would make great gift, both for friends and family, and occasionally for myself! This book combines everything you could want, from simple, speedy projects to those that take a bit more love and attention and you’d be proud to give any of these items as gifts.

The book covers a huge range of gifts that are suitable for babies, young children, teens and adults both male and female. My favourite feature is the fact that the project are categorised by the length of time the take, split into chapters of ‘Less Than 2 Hour Gifts’; ‘2 to 4 Hour Gifts’; ‘4 to 6 Hour Gifts’; ‘6 to 8 Hour Gifts’; and ‘More Than 8 Hour Gifts’. While I’m sure that I will need a bit longer than the predicted time to complete projects with my lack of experience, it is reassuring to know roughly how long they should take to complete so that I know what I am getting myself into when I take on a project.

My absolute favourite pattern in the book is for this adorable ‘Huggable House’:

hoversonhouse

 

It would be an absolute miracle if I managed to finish this project in the predicted 4-6 hours but it would be worth every minute you put into this as it is stunning!

The instructions for the projects are really straight forward and, as a beginner, I did not feel intimidated by them. Each section of the projects are clearly labelled so that you know exactly which bit you are working on. Everyone from the absolute beginner like myself to an advanced knitter would be able to tackle these projects without any problems.

This book is really unique in the fact that it also gives suggestions of how to use yarn to creatively wrap your presents using yarn. It includes some wonderfully bright and unusual ideas of how to maximise the impact of your handmade gifts with some stunning wrapping that can be done in only minutes. This wonderful finishing touch is a great addition to a standard knitting book and is something that I think more books should include.

I have fallen completely in love with this book and every time I look through it I discover something that I hadn’t noticed the first time. All of the projects are so unique and inspiring, you can’t help but racing to your needles! The organisation of the book into the time each project will take and the addition of the chapter on unique gift wrapping makes this book stand out from others. I can’t recommend this book enough and I’m sure you won’t be able to resist it either!

Rating: 10/10

I received this book as a free Advanced E-Reader Copy from NetGalley.  This book is available to buy now in both the US and the UK.

One thought on “More Last-Minute Knitted Gifts: A Review

Leave a Reply

