10 Reasons Why I Can’t Wait Until the Summer Holidays

Spring Foliage

 

Photo Source

It is coming to that point in my degree when I’m am seriously ready for the summer holiday! While the Easter break is only two weeks away, I have a huge list of essays to write and books to read so it’s not going to be much of a break unfortunately! After longing for the summer I decided to share my list of top ten things I am looking forward to about the summer holidays!

1. No essays! – At the moment I have an essay a week so I’m going to be glad when I don’t have any to worry about.

2. Being able to read a book of my choice – for anyone other than an English student, this isn’t very exciting but I cannot wait to be able to sit and just enjoy reading a book; it is impossible to get lost in a book you are reading to study!

3. Heat! – I’m fed up of the cold now, I have always been a lover of warm weather and it feels like forever since we had any!

4. Light nights – I am definitely looking forward to light evenings, there is nothing more depressing than leaving uni and it being dark.

5. Guilt-free crafting! – with nothing else to do, I have no excuse not to be crafting and the best part of it is that I don’t have to feel guilty about it!

6. Spending more time with James – he finishes his internship in June so it will be nice to spend the summer together before we go back to uni in October.

7. Holiday to London – We have tickets to the Globe and the hotel is booked so we just have to sort out the train tickets then we are sorted!

8. BBQs – who doesn’t love a BBQ in the summer!

9. Lollipops! – I love ice lollies and I can’t wait to get some and relax in the garden with one and a book.

10. Sleep – I am a morning person so I am always awake by 8.30 at the latest but I am a really light sleeper and stress has a massive impact on my sleep. At the moment I am constantly tired because I’m not sleeping properly because there is so much going on in my brain – it will be nice to have a proper sleep without stressing about work!

So bring on the summer! What are you most looking forward to about the summer?

 

P.S. If you enjoy reading my blog please check out my application for the Big Blog Exchange and consider voting for me. Thank you :) http://www.bigblogexchange.org/blog/30001

11 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why I Can’t Wait Until the Summer Holidays

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Stop stressing and take Kalms- can recommend them, non addictive and they do take the edge off!
    Also do read some light fiction it will help the studies I promise- a good old fashioned detective story like Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers or the one I am reading right now about Richard 3rd- The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey.
    Sounds wrong to read something like that but it will help you relax so your studies are really productive- all work and no play etc etc.

    Good Luck! X

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Ooh I usually have Kalms before I get on a plane…I might have to try them! I have two shelves full of Agatha Christie books to read – I might have to make a start on them! I have discovered that reading a short story a day tends to help me calm down 🙂 Thanks for the tips and the recommendations! x

      • nanacathy2 says:

        You’re welcome- did my degree through the Open University, in the not too distant past, so I can so empathize with you. Walking and fresh air helps clear the mind when you get that bogged down feeling.
        Just voted for your blog by the way.

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    Now, normally I never feel like there’s a language barrier between myself and my British blogging friends, but it took me about ten minutes to figure out an “ice lollie” is the same thing as a “popsicle”…

    I’m hoping the summer gets here soon as well, I’ve had enough of snow for this season!

  3. Janey says:

    I love your list, there’s nothing like the summer holidays when you are a student! I’ve been inspired to write my own list of summery things to look forward to, I’m writing it now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

