Knit Your Socks on Straight: A Review

9781612120089

Author: Alice Curtis
Genre: non-fiction, crafts, hobbies, knitting
First Published: 2013 by Storey Publishing
Pages: 144 (advance ebook version)

As someone who is knew to knitting, I am still learning the basics. One thing that I can’t wait to start knitting is a pair of socks (nothing beats knitted socks!) but, although I have knitted in the round before, I am still trying to get my head around it properly and socks seem slightly adventurous for my skill level. Well, this book is the solution to my problems!  It is unlike any other sock knitting book in the way that it offers 19 sock patterns that are specifically designed to be knitted on straight needles.

What I love about this book is the fact that it has patterns that are suitable for men, women, children and babies, so every potential recipient is covered. There are also patterns ranging from simple everyday socks to more extravagant designs as well as a couple of completely unique ones that are unlike anything you will find anywhere else! The range of styles means that there is something for everyone and you are spoilt for choice when it comes to choosing your first project.

The book is laid out in a way that makes it clear to differential the patterns from each other, which each new pattern opening with a full page photograph of the finished socks. The instructions then take you row through row of the left sock, then the right so it is clear to see how each sock is knitted up. It then tells you how to fasten the sides of the socks together using different seams for decorative effects.

The beginning of the book offers useful photo illustrations of step-by-step instructions that covers everything from the basics of casting on to the more specific details of how to attach the socks together and making different style toes. Because of this, the patterns in the book are suitable for knitters of all levels.

This book is so unique amongst the masses of knitting books, and I’m convinced that it will become an immediate addition to my collection once it it is printed. A couple of the designs are so unusual I doubt I will ever knit them, which is why it has dropped a point in my rating, but as I am likely to knit about 90% of the patterns and I love the concept of being able to knit socks on straight needles it still makes it a worthy buy that will shortly be making its way into my collection.

Rating: 9/10

I received this book as a free Advanced E-Reader Copy from NetGalley.  This book will be available for purchase on 15th May 2013 in USA and 26th June 2013 in UK.

5 thoughts on “Knit Your Socks on Straight: A Review

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      The author uses a crochet hook to create the decorative seam. It runs along the side of the foot then up the side of the leg in most of the patterns but a couple come up the from of the foot. I hope this helps!

  1. Alice Curtis says:

    Thank you for reviewing my book Hannah! I hope you enjoy the book in real life as well. If you run into any problems in actually knitting the socks, just write me and I’ll be glad to assist however I can. I am also on Ravelry (fab knitting and crochet online community) as pincushionpatch.

  2. Ginger Malphrus says:

    I love the book. I am working on the first sock and I’m having a little trouble with the heel flap part where it says to repeat row 1 and 2. Do you also put the sitches on a holder for the remaining repeats and wind up with just a few stitches. I am not a new knittier, but I am new at making socks.

Leave a Reply

