How to stand out from the crowd when selling crafts online webinar

Last night I took part in a free webinar that was put on by The Creative University. The title of the webinar was ‘how to stand out from the crows when selling crafts online’ and it was led by digital marketer Claire Hughes. I had never taken place in a webinar before and I had no idea what to expect but it was a fantastic opportunity to learn more about setting up a business to sell crafts online.

The webinar ran for an hour, with the first 45 minutes acting like a lecture. Once I had signed in to the webinar, I could hear Claire’s audio while an accompanying powerpoint took place on the screen. The webinar was divided into the following sections: the pros and cons of selling on a marketplace; picking the right products; getting found; first impressions then an opportunity to ask questions.

The webinar mainly focused on getting and retaining customers on your website, rather than the process of setting up but there were some fantastic tips that would never have crossed my mind! However, in the Q&A section Claire did give some pointers of where to look for help with setting up a business when I asked.

What is more, she mentioned the amazing From Passion to Profit course that will be starting next week. This course gives you everything that you need to set up a business and start selling online during the six week course. If I had £99.99 to spare I would definitely jump on board with this one! While I’m debating setting up a website to sell online, I’m currently feeling at a loss of where to start! The legal side of it all seems particularly terrifying! However, I will do some more research and see what comes of it!

I really feel that I learnt so much from the webinar that I would never have even considered and that fact that it was free really gave me a taster of what The Creative University has to offer. I can’t wait to take part in more webinars and hopefully a course with them in the future!

7 thoughts on “How to stand out from the crowd when selling crafts online webinar

  1. Mak says:

    What a great resource! Thanks for sharing this with us, Hannah! I’ve never heard of the Creative University. Looking through the site now.

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    I’d say etsy might be the easiest place to set up an online shop (although I have to admit I haven’t done much research on the subject) but they do lay out the legal stuff pretty straightforwardly and you don’t have to set up a payment system on your own (which would be the most intimidating thing for me).

  3. homemadesarcasm says:

    Thanks for the link, I’m sad I missed that webinar!

    I’ve been thinking a lot lately about opening my own etsy store, because it seems pretty all laid out for you (don’t want to be too lofty in my goals). I feel like the amount of work going into actually fully opening your own online store would be huge but rewarding. Maybe one day for me!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hopefully they will do something similar soon for you to join! It’s true that it would be a lot of work. I’m in a lucky position because my boyfriend is a computer scientist and has done a lot of web design before so I would recruit him!

Leave a Reply

