Stash-Buster Challenge 2013

Well, I have been crocheting for 8 months now and knitting for just a few weeks but I have already noticed that my stash is quickly becoming out of control! My stash really took off when my Grandma donated lots of unwanted yarn my way, but since then I have added to it a fair bit!

I tend to be good when buying yarn and only buy it for specific projects that I have in mind but getting round to doing the projects isn’t always as easy as I imagine! I also have a lot of Ravelry projects in mind to use up any odds and ends that I have lying around but so far I haven’ t got round to actually doing any of them!

Well, that’s all about to change because I am taking part in:

stash buster1

That’s right, I am joining together with bloggers from all over the world with the single mission to slash our stash! I really hope that I can cut down my stash enough so that I don’t have to jump backwards when I open the door to avoid being buried under bags of yarn!

This fantastic idea came from Lanas de Ana and Linda’s Crafty Corner, who are organising the challenge as well as busting their own stashes in the process! Hop on over to their blogs to sign up and take part…it isn’t too late to join! Plus you have the support of everyone else taking part to help you cut down your stash to a manageable size!

And now the shameful bit, here is the stash that I have to work with:

WP_000353

 

Eek! I didn’t even realise how much I had until I pulled it all out! I also have an additional tray of Lang Marisa but the entire contents of my cupboard were in danger of falling on me if I tried to get it out! I can’t believe I have accumulated so much in just a year! So fellow crocheters and knitters feel free to join if you have a stash like mine that needs busting!

Related Articles:

24 thoughts on “Stash-Buster Challenge 2013

  1. Ginny says:

    I don’t think I even want to know what my stash looks like. I have thinned it out a couple of times over the last several years, but somehow it still manages to grow. I also have a cross stitch stash, scrapbook stash, stamping stash, fabric stash, magazine stash, photo stash…..Too many stashes. I think I will leave them be for now and work on whittling down my cross stitch projects. Love you stash 🙂

  2. Ana BC says:

    I am glad you are joining us for the challenge! You have some nice colored yarn there. Can´t wait to see what to make with it. We will be sharing ideas so we can use that yarn that has been “sleeping” in boxes and bags…

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      That is true! Once I have used up this lot I can have a guilt free shopping trip! Although I will probably enjoy being able to open my cupboard door without bags of yarn falling on me…at least for a little bit 😉

Leave a Reply

