22 Before 22: How I Spent My Wednesday Afternoon…

Learning a new skill! As part of my 22 before 22 I said that I wanted to learn how to knit in the round and here is my first ever attempt:

WP_000247

 

I’m quite impressed with how it is turning out so far because, not only is it the first in the round pattern I have tried; it is the second pattern I have ever knitted and the third ever item! It is also the first time I have tried cable knitting ! Phew! It could have been disastrous!

WP_000245

 

The only mistake I have made was casting on too tight so it is a bit of a squeeze to get on but I’ll know for next time! Hopefully by the end of today I will have finished knitting one of them…then I just have to work out how to reverse the pattern…

Related Articles:

15 thoughts on “22 Before 22: How I Spent My Wednesday Afternoon…

  1. creative pixie says:

    I made the mug warmer,unfortunately my tension was was too tight so i couldnt fit it round the mug 😦 Ah well at least the owl looked cute.

  2. cuteasabutton82 says:

    Wow, you sure like to give yourself a challenge don’t you! I’m very impressed – I’ve done loads of normal and cable knitting, but only just starting to play around with double pointed needles and finding it pretty tricky! I look forward to seeing the finished product 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha yes I do! It was pretty tricky…I couldn’t work out how to hold it and there were needles sliding out everywhere! It has turned out well though, I have just finished the ends off so I now have one glove! I just need some buttons for the eyes. It was a good project for a beginner surprisingly! I will post a picture as soo as I have finished the second one!

  3. HannahDavis says:

    I agree with Ginny — cables are much easier to work with. I’m a huge fan of the magic loop method. You’re doing great considering how many new things you’re trying all at once. It looks like you’ve known how to do it forever!

Leave a Reply

