My First (Shareable) Sewing Project Complete!

As you may remember, I mentioned earlier in the week that one of my Christmas presents was a sewing machine! Previously, I had used my Mum’s sewing machine on a couple of occasions but I hadn’t really done much machine sewing before. Now though, I am excited to learn the new skill so I have been working on some projects. My first projects is part of my boyfriend’s Valentine’s Day present so I can’t share that yet unfortunately – I don’t want to spoil the surprise! But I completed my second project this week and this is one that I can share with you!

I wanted to create a simple tote bag that I could hang over my new embroidery stand so that I could keep my chart and threads for my current project together, all ready to hand for when I needed them. This is what I came up with:

WP_000217

 

When I received an email from M is for Make with a preview of their new range I couldn’t resist this typewriter fabric! I had bought a notebook using the exact same design only a few weeks before!

WP_000222

 

I found the instructions on Skip to my Lou via a Google search, but I have put the link below for you if you want to try your own 🙂

I was really impressed with the final look of the bag, particularly the corners which initially caused some confusion but the hard work paid off!

WP_000220

 

The bag is the ideal size to hang on my stand and I only altered the length of the handles (mainly because I only wanted to have to order 2 fat quarters!) but it has come out at a great size for fitting A4 charts into as well as allowing for plenty of room for large kits. I also lined the bag!

Even the handles turned out well with the typewriter design running down the middle!

WP_000224

 

This is a great project for beginners like me or an easy one for more advanced stitchers to do quickly. The bag would also be great for shopping or uni as it is a fantastic size. The photo instructions are also really straight forward and easy to follow!

I can’t wait to find another sewing project to get started on now!
Related Articles:

6 thoughts on “My First (Shareable) Sewing Project Complete!

Leave a Reply

