Crafting Charity Shop Finds

Recently, someone told me that the Dove House Hospice charity shop in the city centre had opened up a craft section. Where I live, craft items fly out of the charity shops before they even hit the shelf so it is almost impossible to find anything worth buying in them when it comes to craft. So, intrigued by this idea, I made a trip there before Christmas. Sadly, with the festivities looming, I couldn’t afford to treat myself but yesterday I made another visit and this time my boyfriend decided to treat me after longingly gazing after this:

WP_000171

This is my current WIP mounted on my new embroidery frame! I absolutely love it! And, priced at ยฃ8.50, how could I leave it there! It looks like there is a bar missing from across the bottom of the stand but it seems sturdy enough without it and it makes stitching so much easier!

While I was in the charity shop, my eyes were drawn to the bright colours of these:

WP_000173

I couldn’t resist these lovely colours even though I have no idea what to use them for. I was considering using them to crochet something delicate, but when I got in my mum suggested using them for embroidery as they would make a good effect with the colour changes and they would be thin enough to use so now I’m contemplating a new skill! And at 25p each, they were just begging to be taken off the shelf!

I will certainly be making many return visits to the Dove House Hospice craft section as there is so much in there to be found! You do have to rummage a bit and there would be no point going with a particular item in mind but you can easily pick up something for your stash! The craft section stretched down one side of the shop, allowing a large area to the craft section. There are baskets full of half used and brand new balls of yarn, as well as shelves piled with reels of thread and crochet cotton (anย enormous spool costing only ยฃ3!) and there are several cross stitch kits and knitting patterns too. There were also two shelves dedicated to craft books. When I first went to the craft section I wasn’t sure what to expect but I was really amazed by the range and volume of stuff, not to mention the fantastic prices! I can’t wait to go again!
Related Articles

26 thoughts on “Crafting Charity Shop Finds

  1. lemon123 says:

    I love your embroidery frame. I’ll bet it feels good to stitch on it. The piece your working on is so delicate and pretty. How nice to have a craft store at the Hospice center.

  2. Ginny says:

    What a great find in the stitching stand. I’m looking for one myself. It looks like it would make your stitching much easier. Awesome! The threads are beautiful, too. Can’t wait to see what you stitch up with those. Great finds.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      It is brilliant! They had a couple of other ones that were sturdier and black but this one won me over and looks lovely in my room too! It definitely makes it easier for pretty large pieces like this one ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t either! I will have to look for a project!

  3. opusanglicanum says:

    a decent woodworker ought to be able to add a bar along the bottom fairly easily if you wanted one. although you may find that if you get serious about embroidery you’ll want to invest in a frame with a slightly more efficient tensioning system – I can never get away with those rolling ones myself

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Yeah I thought about that because my Grandpa would be able to do something if I was in need, at the moment it seems sturdy enough to me but I’ll give it another week and decide if anything is needed. If I’m ever lucky enough to have a craft room when I have a house I may splash out on a better one, for now it is only worth having a cheap one because I spend my life carting it downstairs to the living room then back up to my bedroom again!

  4. mswalsh says:

    I’m green with envy! I have a frame but without the stand – the stand looks very very handy as the frame alone is a bit unwieldy.
    I love your stitching too! so pretty!

Leave a Reply

