First EVER Knitting Project – Complete!

Last night me and my boyfriend were watch ‘A Clockwork Orange’ when I realised that I had nearly finished my first ever knitting project. It had grown much quicker than I had expected over the last few days and I couldn’t leave it so close to the end without finishing it off. So, with half an eye on the film I learnt two decrease methods and how to knit a button hole so that at the end of the evening I had this:

WP_000153

Ta-da! It still needs a press and the ends need finishing but I am completely over the moon! (Also, sneak preview of the necklace James got me for Christmas! Love it!)

And here it is laid flat:

WP_000154

I even got to use on of the fabulous buttons Mrs M. sent me! I can’t believe the project turned out so well for my first attempt! I’m super happy! You can find the pattern in the ‘related articles’ section below if you want to have a go…as you can see, it is great for beginners!

My next attempt is going to be the lovely owl wrist warmers that were featured in Mollie Makes magazine a little while ago. This will be a scary one as I haven’t done any cable work before…or knitted in a circle using double pointed needles…it will be interesting to see how it turns out! For this reason, it may be a little quiet on the knitting front for a while as I try and get my head round everything!

Related Articles:

25 thoughts on “First EVER Knitting Project – Complete!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’m being ambitious and attempting some fingerless gloves knitted in the round that also have some cabling on them…we’ll just have to wait and see how that goes! They have a cute little owl on though!

  1. Martine says:

    They sound lovely. What’s the pattern? It’s good to challenge yourself. I did my first knitting pattern design recently and that was a real challenge. All sounds great 🙂

  2. Janey says:

    Well done! These head warmers are great if you are just beginning, because they are relatively simple, and you get to practice lots of basic skills.

    I have some owl gloves to knit too – they daunt me and I have been knitting for a while!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I love it! He knows me so well :’) lol. I think once you know one it is pretty easy to pick up the other but a lot of knitters that I know don’t like crochet so it seems to be harder to go from knitting to learning crochet than the other way round. I’m glad I learnt crochet first because knitting then feels like a logical step upwards from one short hook to two long needles. I think knitting is quite awkward when you start with the needles being so long but I felt more comfortable using them after learning to crochet. I think they can both be equally as difficult at times but I think if anyone wanted to learn both I would recommend crochet then knitting rather than the other way round but that might just be my preference!

  3. Pillows A-La-Mode says:

    My headband arrived today and I L-O-V-E it!!! Most of the homemade items I buy go in my “gift box” for birthdays and Christmas, but I’m going to keep this one! The button on it is so pretty, too! And thank you for the sweet note. I’m traveling for business this week, but I plan to write a post about my new treasure when I get back. THANK YOU! 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Ooh I’m glad it arrived ok. I’m glad you like it too! I was worried since knitting isn’t something I’m very confident about yet. I haven’t posted yet because I didn’t want to spoil the surprise but I’ll post about i this week. Thank you for helping me achieve my goal!

Leave a Reply

