Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked…

So, it would appear that my aim to keep up with blogging in December after the slump in posts during NaNoWriMo hasn’t quite come off. December is a pretty hectic month anyway, but I am currently feeling pretty overwhelmed with Christmas crafting and university work! Luckily, I have just finished my Faith hope and Charity Shopping Swap and that is all parcelled up ready for posting. That just leaves me with 4 presents to finish before Christmas day! I’m slowly beginning to feel like I am making progress!

In terms of university work, my next set of deadlines fall in the second and third weeks of January, and I have three essays due with a combined word count of 9,000 words. Ideally, I would like to get these out of the way before Christmas, which might actually be achievable if I didn’t also have 19 books to read and 7 films to watch in preparation for semester 2!

The books include:

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
The Spy Who Came in From the Cold by John Le Carre
The Collector by John Fowles
The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard
The Homecoming by Harold Pinter
The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells
RUR by Karel Capek
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy
Neuromancer by William Gibson
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
Zoo City by Karen Beukes or The Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey

And the following Shakespeare plays:

Twelfth Night
Measure for Measure
Othello
King Lear
Cymbeline

And if all of that wasn’t going to keep me busy enough, the Christmas overtime is creeping into the rota at work. Eek!

So if my blogging appears to be slipping slightly, do bear with me, I promise it won’t be for long!

On the positive side, it is my 21st birthday on Wednesday so I am looking forward to a guilt-free day off university work!

7 thoughts on “Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked…

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I have seen King Lear performed and I enjoyed it so I am quite looking forward to reading it. I have read Carter’s ‘The Bloody Chamber’ which I absolutely fell in love with, but when I tried her ‘Nights at the Circus’ I couldn’t get into it at all, I hope I like this one!

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart says:

    King Lear is my favorite Shakespeare play by far, you’re in for a treat! Looks like you have a good list of books to read (even if it will be a lot of work). I loved A Brave New World and Clockwork Orange (although you might wanna keep a cheat sheet for all the new slang you come across…)

    Good luck with all your work. I know how you feel with the end of the semester (or for me the end of college completely) is coming up. And happy 21st!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Yeah I chose the modules with the best reading lists so hopefully the reading will be enjoyable πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip, I’ll bear it in mind! And thank you for the birthday wishes πŸ™‚

  2. mel says:

    Happy 21st birthday! Hope it’s a great day! I enjoyed your reading list…I loved The Spy Who Came in From the Cold…to my surprise…and The Collector is a great novel…Good luck with December…it is always the craziest month!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you! Ooh I didn’t think I would like The Spy Who Came in From the Cold so fingers crossed! I am looking forward to The Collector, I had never heard of it before but it sounds interesting πŸ™‚ Haha it is indeed!

Leave a Reply

