Microwave Cake!

These were the SUPER HUGE microwave cakes that me and my boyfriend made yesterday! As you can see (thanks to the can) they turned out a bit bigger than we expected! In fact, they reached the top of my microwave! I have written the recipe that I used below, the original recipe was given to me by the Brownie leader at the unit where I volunteer, but I have changed some of the amounts to make the best consistency cake.

You will need:

  • 4 tbsp self raising flour
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • One medium egg
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cap of vanilla extract
  • 1 large coffee cup

The recipe is really versatile, so if you want to make a smaller cake then you can simply half the recipe (except the egg of course) but if you half the recipe you will have to test the cake after half the time as it cooks really quickly and it may burn!

Method:
Making the cake is really simple – it is basically a case of adding all of the ingredients into a mug and mixing them well! Especially right at the bottom of the mug as you may end up with a lump of flour at the bottom of your cake if you’re not careful! Once you have mixed it, put the mug in the microwave (uncovered) for 3 mins (900 watts). The best part of making the cake is watching it expand as it cooks!

Once the cake has cooked, leave it to cool for a couple of minutes. The cake itself has the texture of sponge, so it can be served with ice cream, cream or custard as a dessert, or just eaten with a spoon as a snack!

The recipe is also great to experiment with, as you can add chocolate chips, coffee , liqueur…whatever takes your fancy!

N.B. I mentioned a ‘cap’ of vanilla extract, as my bottle has a screw cap so I just fill the cap with extract and pour it in. If your bottle doesn’t have a screw cap, a ‘splash’ of vanilla extract will be sufficient.

Let me know how yours turn out!

Leave a Reply

