The Dark Knight Rises: A Review

I will do my very best not to spoil anything for those who haven’t yet seen the film 🙂

The first time I saw ‘The Dark Knight,’ it was very much against my will and it terrified me…I’m putting that down to the clowns. However, when I watched it again at a later date (in a less threatening environment than a cinema screen) I was completely hooked! I’m certainly not, by any means, a fan of superheroes. Generally I am unable to suspend my disbelief far enough to see me through the first transformation or fight scene, however, something about ‘The Dark Knight’ drew me in. I think what essentially attracted me was the study of human behaviour when placed in these situations (I’m sad I know) and the most prominent image I took away from the film was when the parties on the two boats have the option of blowing up the other boat to save themselves, and neither of them could do it.

When I heard that ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ was being released, I found myself being surprisingly intrigued. In an instant, I had made up my mind that I wanted to see it. I hoped to be as drawn in as I was by the previous film, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed.

The plot is generally about the return of Batman, as, for the first seven years after the death of Harvey Dent, Bruce Wayne has disappeared from Gotham, and upon his return, he lives as a recluse and a cripple. Suddenly, his solitary life is interrupted by the intrusion of a ‘cat burglar’ which inspires him to find out more about the mysterious woman. Eventually, after various events, Wayne discovers that a masked man, Bane, is terrorising the city, and once again dons the infamous suit to defeat him. In a painfully embarrassing fight scene, Batman is defeated and exiled, forced to improve his mind and body, until his can return to Gotham and face Bane once again.

The story was intriguing from the beginning, and offered all of the twists and turns you would expect from a superhero movie. While at times little things felt predictable, this is probably something that cannot be avoided in this genre. However, these elements didn’t spoil the film in any way and I was definitely glad that I had gone to see it. The ending is completely unexpected, and leaves you wondering what will happen next! And even the fact that I haven’t seen ‘Batman Begins’ didn’t stop me from understanding who characters were or what was going on, even though it did require some logical thinking.

Overall, I was thoroughly impressed with the film and I really didn’t want it to end. Even now I would be tempted to watch it again, even this soon after my first viewing! Which is a lot coming from a girl with no interest in superheroes!

 

3 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises: A Review

Leave a Reply

