Another Surprise from Grandma!

As I mentioned earlier in the week, my Grandma is a knitter and was having a clear out of her yarn stash, so she passed on her excess to me! (These goodies can be seen here!)

Well today I had another lovely surprise, as my Grandma sent my Grandpa round with even more goodies! As I mentioned in my first post, my new stash included seven and a half balls of Lang Marisa Cotton, which I was hoping to use to make a table runner such as this one:

Well, today my Grandma sent round another FIFTY-FOURΒ balls of theΒ Lang Marisa Cotton!!! Β I was over the moon! My Mum has decided that now I have so many that she is going to make a runner too so we have another project to keep us busy! And if ours turn out acceptable, we will be making one for my Grandma too as a thank you present! And we will probably still have balls left over!

My wonderful present from Grandma!

And, if that wasn’t enough, my Grandma also sent six balls of Twilleys Twenty Crochet Cotton! Now what to do with that…

More goodies to add to my stash!

Now to get cracking on some projects to show Grandma!

22 thoughts on “Another Surprise from Grandma!

  1. Mrs M says:

    Wow! That is a lot of cotton. I wonder what project she originally bought it for?
    I’m sure you’ll find a use for it!

  2. Vix says:

    Lucky, lucky! And the table runner looks both gorgeous and a challenge – perfect. My nanna used to knit when I was little, unfortunately she died when I was young but I like to think I’m carrying on her legacy and I’ve even got the pattern for some of the knitted toys she made us so I can make them for my kids
    I’m excited to see progress on the runner

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I fell in love with the runner the moment I saw it! I was hoping to have a bit more practice at crochet before undertaking anything so intricate as I have never used cotton before but at least with this lot there is plenty of margin for error!
      What a lovely idea of making the knitted toys for your children! They will be extra special and I’m sure your Nanna would be thrilled!

  3. tgonzales says:

    OH mY gosh you are going to be a busy young lady indeed. And it sounds like you have it all figured out. I just love getting thread and yarn given to me. Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Tamara

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha I will! I’m still working on my back order of Zingys that everyone has fallen in love with! I have! I think my Grandma would be very disappointed if I couldn’t update her with what my plans for her stash are! She’s coming for tea today so she will want filling in!

Leave a Reply

