Exciting News! 100 Followers! I Think A Giveaway is in Order…

Woopwoop! Last night before I went to bed I got my 100th follower! (And this morning when I woke up I had my 101st!)

Firstly, I would like to say a HUGE thank you to all of my followers. I never imagined that anyone would read my blog when I first started, never mind getting over 100 followers in just 85 days! I am extremely grateful to anyone who has taken the time to read one of my posts!

I have been considering doing a giveaway for a while now, however, I was put off by the responsibility of the organisation and the expense and reliability of the postal service! However, I thought that it would be a great way to celebrate 100 followers and a wonderful way to interact with fellow bloggers in another way. I am also aware that the majority of my followers are from outside the UK, so I am making the giveaway international!

The other problem that I faced was the divide in my followers, as my posts are either about books or crafts. I am aware that most of you out there are like me and love both, but to avoid bias, my first giveaway will be book related, then my 200 followers give away will be craft related and vice versa.

So, for my giveaway, I have decided to give the prize of one of the books that I have reviewed on my blog! Some of them have been re-homed already, but I have linked to my reviews of the books that are available below. Don’t be disheartened if I have given the book of your choice a negative review, the reviews are simple my personal opinion, so just because I didn’t enjoy the book doesn’t mean that you won’t!

To enter, simple comment below with the title of the book that you would like to receive, and why you would like to read that one! You have one week to enter, making the closing time of the competition midnight (GMT) on Monday 16th July. The winner will be announced in the following days post, and will be chosen by a random prize draw. Only one entry per person.

Good luck everyone! And thanks again for reading my blog!

The Books (click to read review):

‘Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman’ by Haruki Murakami

‘The Omen’ by David Seltzer

‘The Great Gatsby’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald

‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

‘Elsewhere’ by Gabrielle Zevin

‘Witch Child’ by Celia Rees

‘The Haunted House’ by Charles Dickens

Tell me which one you would like and why in the comments below to enter!

22 thoughts on “Exciting News! 100 Followers! I Think A Giveaway is in Order…

  1. Nadine Nys says:

    Congratulations, Hannah! You have a nice blog and youcertainly deserve a lot of followers.
    Thanks for this giveaway. I would love the book by Murakami!

  2. Janey says:

    Congratulations Hannah! Great achievement in such a short time!

    I’d love to enter your givewaway, and I’d like The Shadow of the Wind if I win! 🙂

  3. azurachan says:

    Congratz Hannah. What an achievement. People love reading your blog!
    I would love to have The Witch Child by Celia Rees if I win. 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you! Haha, I know what you mean! I need about 30 books per year for my degree (I’m now in my third year and there are still a few from the first few years lying around) and I always buy books that I want to read but I don’t have time when I am studying! Being a bookseller doesn’t help because I discover four times as many books as I usually would! And the discount makes it even more tempting…

  4. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    Congratulations Hannah, you’re a star and a talent, rock on to 200! Love the idea of a giveaway like this with links to your reviews, might have to do something like that myself. So I would choose the Murakami because I am intrigued to discover his short stories, I didn’t realise he had a short story collection out and I’m definitely not put off by your review.

    I read Dance, Dance, Dance first and then The Wind Up Bird Chronicles and am planning to try 1Q84 this summer, I’m kind of intrigued by Murakami I guess, he’s a bit avant garde and challenges us to remove all expectations.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Thank you! It was a bit of a brainwave that came from nowhere really but I know that a few people had commented on my reviews saying that they would like to read them and I haven’t got a use for them any more so it made sense really =)
      I would like to try reading more Murakami I think. I really wasn’t sure at first but it really bothers me that I don’t ‘get’ the appeal of him! Maybe I’d like his novels better. A really enjoyed a couple of the stories though. Good luck!

      • Claire 'Word by Word' says:

        Worth a try to read one of his novels, not sure which one to start with, possibly just the enxt one that comes across your path – my Uncle lent me the first one I read, he loves his work so recommended it to me. It was a little bizarre, so I read what was his most popular novel next, it made me have clairvoyant type dreams, – good writing material.
        I forgot to mention that your Murakami book review link took me to The Omen.

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        That sounds like a good idea! I’ll pick up the next one I encounter. Thanks for pointing that out! I was having problems with my keyboard short cuts at the time so my copy and paste wasn’t working. I should have fixed that now!

  5. indiagreendesigns says:

    Hey Hannah – you’re blog is really enjoyable to read.. I’m amazed how you find the time to read so many books, you must sleep read!You’ve inspired me to try the 30 day book challenge…and I think my ‘Book you plan to read next’ will be Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman’ by Haruki Murakami. I haven’t read many short stories and I think you’re right that it’s a good way to get to know if you will enjoy a writers work.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Hi, I’m glad that you like my blog! Haha well being an English student I normally have to make time to read but I have enjoyed being able to read books of my choice for a while! I wanted to get through as many as possible this summer because I won’t have time to read my own books again until next summer! I hope you enjoy doing the challenge, it was pretty tough to answer some of them! I hope you enjoy Murakami. It’s a shame it wasn’t for me but I know that loads of people love him!

Leave a Reply

