Calling all Crafters! Beanies Needed for Cancer Patients!

Yesterday I stumbled upon this fantastic cause and I really wanted to share it will all of my crafty followers. Jess’s Dad is a cancer patient in the Day Oncology Unit at the Royal Brisbane Hospital. Here, they have a box of hats, scarves and gloves to help the patients feel warmer as their body temperature is effected by the chemotherapy, not to mention that it is the middle of winter in Australia. Jess had made it her mission to have 100 beanies specially made to be donated to the unit and so far 117 people have committed themselves to making a beanie! However, some people have been sending multiple items…even by the box load! It looks like Jess will easily make her target of 100 beanies, so why not make it 100 scarves and pairs of gloves too!

I have pledged my name as contributing towards the cause, and I am hoping that a cancer patient all the way in Australia will be thrilled to receive a small gift (potentially their last gift) from a girl half way around the world. It isn’t a big ask, especially as many of us will have suitable yarn stashed away (baby yarn without any wool content is best!) which would be really appreciated by one of the patients.

If you would like to sign up of find out more about the cause, you can find the information here: http://epherielldesigns.com/100-beanie-drive

This page also offers useful links to simple beanie patterns and instructions on how to make a hat comfortable for a cancer patient (seamless etc.)

It would be great if we could get some more people involved and turn this into a global event. I’d love to hear from you if you are interested in getting involved so please comment!

7 thoughts on “Calling all Crafters! Beanies Needed for Cancer Patients!

  1. Hook & Linen says:

    I posted of my beanie on Wednesday. I didn’t make it myself but my heart went with it, as my father passed away in May this year from that horrible word “cancer”

Leave a Reply

