Fathers Day Cross Stitch Card

I recently entered a competition in Cross Stitch Crazy Magazine, which involved sending in a picture of my Mum with the Mother’s Day cross stitch that I made for her, and I ended up winning a £30 voucher for Dotcomgiftshop and my letter was featured in the magazine! Jokingly, my Dad looked at it and said I should make him a Fathers Day card to send in and win another prize!

Well with another issue of Cross Stitch Crazy the free gift was a Fizzy Moon Fathers Day Card. Since I had made a gift for my Mum, I wanted to make something for my Dad too, so the card seemed like a good idea. And here it is all finished:

Just as I had finished the card, I noticed that on the Facebook page, Cross Stitch Crazy were doing a prize draw from everyone who uploaded pictures of their finished cards. I uploaded mine and to my surprise…I won! (May was a lucky month!) And in a few short days this cutie arrived at my door:

I think he is adorable! After making the Fathers Day card and receiving my little treat, I remembered that I had another Fizzy Moon kit from an old copy of The World of Cross Stitch in my box of unopened kits. So, I decided to dig him out and  now I also have this card stashed away:

I will probably use it as a Mothers Day card for next years as the design reminds me of the spring season. I am now completely in love with Fizzy Moon designs! However, they don’t come easy! All of the back stitch to make him fuzzy seems to go through the centre of the stitches, and requires some forcing. As a result of this, I was constantly pricking myself and ended up with several bloody fingers! However, I think my lovely prize makes it worth it; and hopefully on Sunday, my Dad will love his card as much as I do!

13 thoughts on “Fathers Day Cross Stitch Card

  1. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    No wonder you won the Versatile Blogger award, these cards are fantastic, I want to see the one you made your Mum too 🙂

    Congratulations on all the prizes, you defintiely deserve them all, it seems like a good time to start new projects, your stars must all be in alignment Hannah 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’ll upload a picture of the one I made my mum if you like! It was a little photo frame.
      They must have been! These were only two of the five prizes I won last month! Lets just hope my exams went as successfully!

  2. Pam says:

    Hi Hannah, I’ve also got this kit but can find no pattern for it :s Do you still have the pattern as I would love a copy please 🙂

Leave a Reply

