30 Day Book Challenge – #29 Book You Are Currently Reading

This is the second time I have got round to reading ‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue, as I only read thirty pages last time and gave up. After a break however, I picked up where I left off and I absolutely fell in love with it. I am currently half way through the book and I can’t put it down! I think that when I started reading the first time, I found it difficult to comprehend Jack’s world inside Room – the only place he has ever known, as his mother was kidnapped when she was a teenager and kept in ‘Old Nick’s’ shed. I was finding it difficult to see how the plot could progress, but once Jack becomes aware of the world outside of Room, reading his thought process of comprehending a world outside his four walls is incredibly interesting. Donoghue has also captured the voice of five-year-old Jack incredibly well.

As soon as I have finished the book I will be posting a full review so keep your eyes out!

9 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #29 Book You Are Currently Reading

  1. carvedbytheshadows says:

    It seems like an interesting book, but it does kind of remind me of the big cases that have been in the news in the past few years – like the Fritzel one. I imagine the little boy’s perspective is very different to a normal person’s point of view, which probably separates it from news stories. I’m looking forward to your review already!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Yeah it is a really unique perspective! It’s really difficult to comprehend that he has never experienced the world before. It’s such a compelling book. It can be hard work to understand at times though! I’ll probably have it finished in a couple of days so keep an eye out šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

