30 Day Book Challenge – #26 Favourite Non-Fiction Book

I absolutely love this book! Not only is it beautiful to look at but it also has some fantastic projects inside to make that are incredibly easy but look stunning. I had never attempted appliqué before but I fell for the projects in the book and I knew that I had to give it a go! I decided to work on a few projects at the same time, which meant that I got the most out of my fabrics so that nothing went to waste. I chose to work on the appliqué lampshade because it looks so beautiful, and the appliqué cushion so the designs on them matched and I could get more out of the fabric designs that I am using. I also decided to make the fabric flowers because they looked really unique and used up any left over fabric I had well. These were also very easy and a great place to start, as all I had to do was press a circle into a petal stitch then do a running stitch and pull it tight.

Keep your eyes peeled for a later blog when I will have photos of my finished projects (as soon as I have finished them!)

12 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #26 Favourite Non-Fiction Book

  1. The Giraffe's Hat says:

    I’ve been tempted by this book before, it looks so nice! Your review makes me want it even more ^_^ I don’t have a sewing machine though, do you need one to make the things? or is there instructions for hand sewing?

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Most of the designs use a sewing machine for machine embroidery either as decoration or to sew pieces together. Some look like it is possible to do it by hand but it doesn’t give any specific instructions. I would recommend looking at the book first because the hand sewing would take much longer and might not get the neat effect of the sewing machine – it’s easiest to judge by looking at it as you know your sewing abilities. I would recommend using a machine though, only the fabric flowers say they can specifically be sewn by hand. I haven’t got a sewing machine either so I am borrowing my mum’s!

Leave a Reply

