30 Day Book Challenge – #25 Favourite Book You Read in School

I never realised how much I enjoyed reading plays until I did this challenge! So here’s another one! I read J. B. Priestly’s ‘An Inspector Calls’ when I was doing my GCSEs and I absolutely loved it. The story takes place on one night in the home of the middle-class Birling family. Set in 1912, the action is initiated by the arrival of an Inspector Goole, enquiring about the suicide of a working-class woman, Eva Smith (aka Daisy Renton). Goole interrogates the family until they are forced to reveal to each other how deceitful and detestable they really are. But there is a ghostly twist at the end of the play, that shocks the unexpecting audience.

I loved this play so much simple because it combines my favourite genres – crime and ghost stories – and offers a plot that constantly twists and turns in unexpected directions, so the reader/audience is always surprised at what comes next.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #25 Favourite Book You Read in School

  1. Kristel says:

    Apart from the Shakespeare standards, (required reading!) I actually haven’t read many plays. But this one sounds really intriguing. Not big on crime, but I’m game for a ghost or two (in fiction!) any day. 🙂

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’d really recommend it! The focus on crime isn’t too dramatic, it is more about psychology and the class system. It’s really good though, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

