30 Day Book Challenge – #17 Shortest Book You Have Ever Read

There were several children’s books I could have added into this section (such as Lane Smith’s ‘It’s a Book!’ that I read a few months ago!) however, I decided to restrict my answer to ‘adult’ books, which I have read recently, to make it more specific.

The shortest book I have read over the last few year is ‘PoliticallyΒ Correct Bedtime Stories’ by James Finn Garner. at only seventy-nine pages long it is probably the shortest book that I own! In this book, Garner takes classic fairy tales such as ‘Little Red Riding Hood,’ ‘Cinderella’ and ‘Snow White,’ and adapts them to conform to political correctness. Garner’s book is an example of ‘political correctness gone mad,’ which highlights some of the hilarious but ‘politically correct’ alternative words, terms and phrases. It is eye-opening reading some of your childhood favourites in which characters protest for equal rights and environmentally friendly alternatives! I loved this book just because it was so outrageously hilarious, highlighting who the word may end up if people constantly complain of things not being ‘politically correct’. Garner brought out a second book after the success of his first title but in my opinion the first one is still the best.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #17 Shortest Book You Have Ever Read

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Haha that’s why I invested in it! It only took me a couple of hours to read and I feel they were hours well spent! It’s a lovely little hardback book too that really looks like a fairytale book, I enjoy digging it out once in a while for a giggle!

Leave a Reply

