30 Day Book Challenge – #16 Longest Book You’ve Ever Read

Ironically, the longest book I can recall reading is The “Short” Oxford History of English Literature. At 768 pages long it’s not exactly short! As a potential Oxford University candidate (much against my will!) my literature teacher suggested that I do some ‘extra reading’ to put on my personal statement. When she handed me this book, I was not expecting a catalogue of every classic ever written! Not only was it the longest book in terms of pages but in terms of the time it took me to read it, it is also the longest!

Unsurprisingly, this isn’t a book I would recommend anyone read for pleasure – while potentially a brilliant research source, it is definitely not a light read!

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #16 Longest Book You’ve Ever Read

  1. carpediemblogger says:

    I find it strange you ‘had’ to read this book. Like you say, this is a great reference book, but not something you read for pleasure. I think you really courageous having read it.

Leave a Reply

