30 Day Book Challenge – #10 Book That Changed Your Life

I had to think long and hard about this one. For the life of me I couldn’t think of a book that had changed my life. However, I eventually decided on ‘The Five-Minute Writer’ by Margret Geraghty.

This book is a fantastic way to overcome writers block, as you can open it on any page and it will give you a short writing exercise, which you can then expand into complete piece or merge a few activities together into a piece. I love how versatile this book is as you can work through it systematically or just open it at a random page for inspiration – and if the first exercise doesn’t work you can just try another! It is also a good way to find out what inspires you to write, so in the future you will know what to look out for when you are on the hunt from a story!

I would say that this book has changed my life as it has really inspired me to write more and helped me out when I have hit a wall with my writing. It is also great because it only requires five minutes so there is no excuse not to do some writing every day! The exercises are also fun, making them seem less like tasks and more enjoyable.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #10 Book That Changed Your Life

  1. stephaniekutner1 says:

    The book that changed my life was “The Bell Jar”, it’s probably what made me become a writer, after reading it when I was twelve. Not sure if you wanted this post to be an interactive one or not? If not, oops : P

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Oh no I love hearing other people’s opinions! Thank you for replying with yours! It’s always really interesting to hear about what other people think. ‘The Bell Jar’ is one of the many books that has been on my ‘to read’ list for years! I must get round to it! Thank you for reminding me of it!

Leave a Reply

