30 Day Book Challenge – #5 Book You Wish You Could Live In

I was really struggling with an answer for today, but then Roald Dahl’s ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ came to mind, and I was amazed I hadn’t thought of it sooner!

For anyone out there (if there are in fact any) that don’t know the story, it is about Charlie Bucket, a young boy who finds a golden ticket in a Wonka bar, after finding some money in the street. This golden ticket allows him and the four other unworthy winners a guided tour of Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory, directed by the chocolate maker himself. What the party discovers inside goes far beyond any expectations; but there are also harsh lessons to be learnt. Charlie’s experience in the chocolate factory will change his life, and that of his poor family forever.

I think it is pretty obvious why I would want to live in this book…who wouldn’t want to live in the world’s most famous chocolate factory!

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #5 Book You Wish You Could Live In

  1. carpediemblogger says:

    Perhaps you won’t believe me, but I have never read this book and didn’t even know the story. I don’t think Dahl’s books were popular here in Belgium when I was a child. I only got to know him when I was in my twenties.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Wow that’s really surprising. Here in the UK most children grow up reading his stories. The Charlie and the Chocolate Factory films are very popular too, I grew up watching the old one from the 70s but there is the new one with Johnny Depp now.

Leave a Reply

