30 Day Book Challenge – #4 Book That Makes You Cry

I have never actually cried at a book (yet!) so instead I have picked the one that was closest to making me cry.

Jenny Downham’s ‘Before I Die’ tells the story of sixteen-year-old Tessa. Tessa is dying. With only a few months left to live, Tessa has created a list of the ten things she wants to do before she dies. However, on her journey to complete her list, she discovers that some of the things she wanted aren’t that important, and discovers what really is important along the way.

This book is really touching and written very sensitively. You cannot help but feel the tears threatening as you reach the end of the book. It is really interesting to see things put into perspective, and see what small things matter so much to a dying teenage girl. It’s definitely a heart-wrenching read but one that I wouldΒ recommendΒ to those who are brave enough to read it!

11 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #4 Book That Makes You Cry

  1. carpediemblogger says:

    I cannot begin to tell which books I cried with, I cry very easily… Not only with books, but also with movies or tv-series. I know it is rather stupid, but I just can’t help myself.

  2. Kristel says:

    Ugh. I’m a sucker for sad books. 😦 I cried over the following: The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne), Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte), Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom), and The Last Lecture (Randy Pausch). But I think it was Wuthering Heights which hurt the most.

    Anyway, I think I’ll give “Before I Die” a try. Based on your review, I think I’d love the book. Thanks for the review!

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I have had a few books where I have been pretty close! I’ll have to avoid reading any upsetting books when I’m pregnant! Books might not do it but the other night ‘The Secret Millionaire’ nearly had me in tears!

      • Claire 'Word by Word' says:

        It’s not just pregnancy, once you’ve been pregnant, you have a much higher presense of certain hormones which stay with you till menopause, they’re great for nurturing children, but they’re a dead give away for a soppy movie/even ads on TV and a book. Kind of magic though, it’s not sadness, just nature. Very cleansing for the soul I tell myself πŸ™‚

      • Hannah Ackroyd says:

        Oh dear =S all of these things I have to look forward to! Well at least that’s a positive way to look at it! I’m quite glad I’m not a lover of romance stories now! Haha

Leave a Reply

