30 Day Book Challenge – #2 Least Favourite Book

 

From everyone that I have spoken too, this book is like Marmite; you either love it or you hate it. Unfortunately I seem to side with the ‘hate it’ side of the argument.

‘The Great Gatsby’ tells the story of Nick Carraway and his extravagant world on Long Island in the 1920s. However, the glittering lifestyle is not all that it seems.

Admittedly, I never finished the book. It is practically unheard of for me to take such a dislike to a book that I cannot face finishing it, especially a book of only 100 pages!!! However, I have vowed to finish it, so in three books time I might have changed my mind on this one, but for now, it is definitely my least favourite book.

I would love to hear other opinions on this one, particularly those of you who love it – I would like to know why.

13 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – #2 Least Favourite Book

  1. gina says:

    I read this book a few years ago and found it really difficult to get through, because I just couldn’t get into it. I was probably about 14 or 15, so I’m wondering if I’ll feel differently about it if I read it now, maybe being older I’ll understand it better? I really had expected to like it though, because of course it’s such a famous book and so many people list it in the favourites, but I didn’t. (And I feel the same about Wuthering Heights!)

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I was about the same age when I first tried it so I want to give it another go. I’ve not read ‘Wuthering Heights’ but I do have a copy so I’ll have to read that one too!

  2. carpediemblogger says:

    I didn’t like The Great Gatsby either, and recently I have tried another one of his books (I already forgot the title) and didn’t like that either… i think Fitzgerald isn’t for me.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’m going to give it another go but I really couldn’t get into it last time. I’ve never tried any of his other books…if I don’t like ‘The Great Gatsby’ this time I probably never will!

  3. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    I’ve just downloaded it to kindle, though in no rush to read it, but was inspired after seeing Susan Hill’s book club was reading it and saw lots of diverse comments there, so like it or not, one has to at least know what its about. Can’t say I was enamoured of Fitzgerald on encountering him between the pages of Paula McLain’s ‘The Paris Wife’ but the man and his writing must be separated at least at the beginning.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      Aah I wasn’t aware they were reading it. I’ve always encountered massively varying opinions about it which was why I wanted to give it another go. I don’t really know much about Fitzgerald himself. Let me know what you think when you have read it!

  4. Katie says:

    I am doing the Great Gatsby for my English Lit AS exam on Wednesday, it took a lot of effort to finish it!

  5. katie says:

    Thank you 🙂 And haha no, i think our whole class did! It just seems like an endless list of characters/place with no real point to it!

Leave a Reply

