Avengers Assemble

Last night I went to see ‘Avengers Assemble’ with my friends and my boyfriend. Admittedly, I didn’t know what I was going to think. It wasn’t a film I particularly wanted to see, and I wouldn’t describe it as ‘my kind of film’ but I was thoroughly impressed.

The plot revolves around an energy source called The Tesseract, which draws energy from space. It is used as a source of renewable energy, until it starts behaving unusually, and Loki, the supervillain, uses it as a gateway to earth. He steals The Tesseract and begins creating a portal to allow his army through to invade the Earth. Meanwhile Nick Fury of S.H.I.E.L.D is assembling a group of superheroes to defeat Loki.

The film was surprisingly gripping right from the start, and although I went through the whole film without knowing who some of the characters were, it didn’t necessarily matter. What I liked most about the film was the humour, particularly that of the egocentric Iron Man, and the scenes featuring Hulk and Thor. This made the film stand out from other superhero movies (because we all know who’s going to win in the end anyway) and it makes it a great family film.

I would strongly recommend this film as one to go and see. It will be particularly rewarding if, like me, you don’t have high expectations. Even if you don’t think it is a film that you will enjoy it is definitely worth watching, you don’t need a detailed knowledge of the characters but it might be worth finding out who is who before you go (this would save the confusion that I suffered!) but otherwise it is a really interesting and exciting film.

2 thoughts on “Avengers Assemble

  1. carvedbytheshadows says:

    I got into the avengers stuff a few months back, when I saw Captain America in the cinema. I’ve been hooked since. The humour in the Avengers Assemble is probably what made it great to me, because I’m not really into action scenes. You should check out Thor (the film) because that is basically where all the back story is, and it is very funny too.

Leave a Reply

