Books Q&A

This Q&A is from Twoninethree

The Rules:
1. Post these rules
2. Post a photo of your favourite book cover
3. Answer the questions below
4. Tag a few people to answer them too
5. Go to their blog/twitter and tell them you’ve tagged them
6. Make sure you tell the person who tagged you that you’ve taken part!

 

What are you reading right now?
The Omen by David Seltzer

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?
Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs

What books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got round to?
The Book Thief, Dracula, Pride and Prejudice…they’re patiently sitting on my shelves as we speak…

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/lounge right now?
Cross Stitch Crazy

What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?
The Great Gatsby. Technically I never finished it (which is pretty much unheard of for me!) because it was that bad but it’s in the pile of upcoming books so I can give it another go!

What book seems really popular but you actually hated?
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami

What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone?
The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

What are your 3 favourite poems?
The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe
The Listeners by Walter de la Mare
I’m struggling for a third one…

Where do you usually get your books?
From Waterstones where I work usually, discount makes be buy books I don’t even want! But I do love getting lost in second hand book shops and antique book fairs!

Where do you usually read your books?
Anywhere that I can. In bed is my favourite place though.

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits?
I grew up reading a lot of crime and horror books (so not much has changed!) My mum always thought I was going to give myself nightmares!

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down?
Enduring Love by Ian McEwan

Have you ever “faked” reading a book?
Frequently…but they were revision guides. I would sit on my bed with the revision guide open with another book inside so it looked like I was revising when my mum came in!

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?
All the time. I have multiples of most classics because I like the covers. I collect Penguin clothbound classics because they are beautiful but I also like the paperback range they have just released. The last book I bought with a pretty cover was a complete tales of Hans Christian Anderson two volume set published by the folio society. It cost me £45.

What was your favourite book when you were a child?
Animal Ark Donkey on the Doorstep – more because of the memories I had when reading it than the story itself.

What book changed your life?
I wouldn’t say it changed my life but it certainly changed my reading habits, ‘Life of Pi’ was a book I never thought I would read, and if I did read it, I didn’t think I’d like it. However, I read it and loved it. It has now made me more willing to read books I normally wouldn’t consider. Maybe now I’ll find the book that changes my life…

What is your favourite passage from a book?
I honestly have no idea for this one!

What are your top five favourite authors?
Currently (in no particular order):
Kate Morton
Charles Dickens
William Shakespeare
Susan Hill
Agatha Christie

What book has no one heard about but should read?
‘I’m A Stranger Here Myself’ by Deric Longden because it’s hilarious.

What are your favourite books by a first-time author?
The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

What is your favourite classic book?
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (can also be applied to the question above!)

5 other notable mentions?
The Shack by W. Young
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

If anyone else fills it in let me know any I’ll have a look at yours!

8 thoughts on “Books Q&A

  1. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    Another Susan Hill fan, yay!

    I received ‘Rebecca’ for World Book NIght, looking forward to diving in and love that it is a new copy, had been avoiding a very yellowed library copy for some time, amazing how a reprint can inspire.

  2. boringlittleme says:

    The Book Thief is a really good book, read it quite a while ago but I absolutely loved it and recommended it to my brother who loved it also 🙂 and I cannot believe you hate the Great Gatsby! I think it’s so beautifully written and I think you should try to finish it but I guess it’s not to everyone’s taste.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      I’m looking forward to reading ‘The Book Thief’ everyone has so much praise for it! I will be giving ‘The Great Gatsby’ another go shortly. I was in my early teens when I first attempted it so hopefully this time I will appreciate it more!

Leave a Reply

