‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell

I’ve never written a review for a book I haven’t read before, but something tells me that this one will be worth it. Ever since I discovered a book exists called ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops,’ I knew that that was one I was going to have to invest in. The book is a compilation of comments from booksellers worldwide, who commented on a blog about the weird things customers had said to them. From working in Waterstone’s, I can guarantee that the comments in the book are one hundred per cent true, as I have been asked many of them!

Some of the weird things I have been asked include:

  • “Do you have to sequel to The Diary of Anne Frank?”
  • “I’m looking for this book, I don’t know who wrote it or what it is about but it has a blue cover.”
  • A man commenting that it is ‘ridiculous’ that we only have one customer toilet…in a bookshop…which technically belongs to the cafe. He didn’t even buy anything from us or the cafe!
  • A woman rang the store…just to find out what time it was!
  • A customer asked me if I knew if the man who invented email had died. When I said I didn’t know he got angry and started shouting that we should know this sort of information because he thought we were somewhere you could come to ask for general information.

I will definitely be picking up a copy of this book. I’m pretty sure a lot of them I will have heard but it’s reassuring to know that I’m not the only bookseller out there who gets bizarre requests! From the snippets I have seen it looks hilarious and it’s amazing to see what clueless comments customers come out with!

5 thoughts on “‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell

  1. Claire 'Word by Word' says:

    I recently came across a website where the writer does forethoughts and afterthoughts of books which was interesting. It helps that you have such hilarious anecdotes to share, and I’m sure once you’ve read the book, we are going to read about a lot more.

    • Hannah Ackroyd says:

      That does sound really interesting! As a creative writer I know how much ideas can change in the process of writing so it would be really amazing to get an insight into the thought process of other writers. Haha yes there probably will be plenty more on the way! It’s not until you discover a book like this that you realise how priceless the anecdotes are! I’ll have to start writing them down because there are loads I have forgotten about!

Leave a Reply

