Happy Spring 2014 Blog Hop: My Relationship with Spring

Thank you for hopping over from Pretty Little Things In A Box!

A little while ago, I saw that Angela from Pretty Little Things in a Box was doing a Spring Blog Hop. I wanted to take part as I love reading Angela’s blog, and I wanted to discover other bloggers who do too! Plus, I have never taken part in a blog hop before and I love expanding my bloggy network!

The one downfall? I don’t like spring.

I know that a lot of people think this is pretty bonkers, but I have a few reasons:

1) I am a light sleeper so as soon as evenings and mornings start getting lighter, I start sleeping less. Even with ‘blackout’ curtains, I’m awake until it gets dark, and awake as soon as it gets light. I do use a sleep mask but that can be uncomfortable, but at least it helps.

2) I’m a student, and to a student, spring only means one thing…the exams are imminent! I’m possibly at the most stressful point in my University career right now, with a mass of deadlines hurtling towards me and I am broaching the start of my 20,000 word dissertation, which currently feels like I’m looking up a mountain I’m about to climb…

3) I am always, always, ALWAYS, without fail, ill in the spring. I’m still waiting for something to bite this year but I know that it will. Between the stress of university and the unhealthy lifestyle it requires right now (endless hours of sitting to read or write essays…) I’m either on the verge of a breakdown or, at the very least, I’m bound to get a cold due to being run down.

4) The weather. True, I do like the lighter days and sunshine, but it is still deceivingly cold on some days and in England we can’t help but constantly be caught out by ‘April showers’, all of which helps to contribute to illness (see number 3 above…)

So, as you can see, coming up with a topic to discuss for a ‘happy’ spring blog post wasn’t going to be easy.

Nevertheless, there are some (perhaps unconventional) things that I think about when I think about spring, which do make me happy, and are more relevant to me now than ever before.

When I think of spring, I think of new beginnings. I think of all of the new things that are born with the spring after the winter. I’m not a big fan of New Year (I’m too sad to see the back of Christmas!) and even though I do make my list of goals (23 before 23) around January time due to when my birthday is, I never usually set ‘resolutions’ or goals for the new year with the same optimistic outlook as others. That’s what comes at spring for me.

As the sun starts shining more and the days start getting lighter, I start feeling more refreshed and motivated. Granted, that doesn’t happen everyday, but just to see the sun shining is enough to lighten the mood! Spring is a time of changes and goal setting, and this year I am experiencing the biggest changes and largest challenges of my life so far.

1. I’m moving.

Moving is probably a headache for anyone, but it’s an even bigger challenge for me right now because it is the first time that I am moving out of my family home. I have lived in the same house for almost all of my life, and it is certainly the only home that I ever remember living in, but right now I’m in the process of packing up all of my belongings (I didn’t know I had so many…) and I’m preparing to move an hour and a half away to West Yorkshire where I will be moving in with my boyfriend James. This is incredibly exciting but also pretty terrifying too, and my main concern is that i have never lived with anyone other than my parents before, so I’m worried James won’t be able to put up with me! Obviously owning a home brings with it a whole host of responsibilities that I will have to get my head round which I’m sure both of us will find pretty challenging to begin with, but I’m sure we’ll muddle through it together. But for now, the main challenge is locating enough boxes to put all of my books in…

InstagramCapture_94b18857-6dde-409d-be0f-c9409d22999b_jpg

2. I’m getting a new job.

Hopefully, that is. Obviously, moving out of the area means that I will have to leave behind my job. I have been in the same job since I started university four and a half years ago, and I have loved every minute of being there. I love all of the staff that I work with and working in a bookshop is possibly the best thing ever. As I am preparing to move though, I am starting to feel ready for a change; as much as I love my job, I don’t see my future being in retail and it has come to the point where I am ready for a new challenge. The last few week has seen me submitting many CVs and filling in several application forms for a whole host of jobs. I still haven’t fully realised what it is that I want to do, but hopefully something will come my way that I feel really suits me and inspires me. Yesterday I received a phone call inviting me to my first interview, right at the time when we were in need of some good news, so I am feeling very excited and optimistic. The job sounds ideal but I am nervous about my first interview in nearly four years. While I am desperately hoping that I am successful, I am trying to keep my ‘realistic’ head on by accepting that it is highly unlikely that I will get the first job that I go for, so I am still hunting to see what other options I have. Luckily, the interview is in a couple of weeks so I have some time to prepare.

3. I’ve come to realise that life is too short.

Possibly the most difficult thing that I am having to deal with right now is the very sudden illness of my Grandpa. It completely came out of nowhere and, to risk putting it bluntly, we have been told there is nothing that can be done to resolve it. Because of this, we are cherishing any moment that we get to visit him in hospital, while internally struggling with the thought that it might be our last. The diagnosis came completely out of nowhere (my Grandpa was previously very healthy, walking the dog three times a day and regularly going on long holidays with my Grandma and their caravan club) and it has really changed my perspective on things. Since his diagnosis, I have made the difficult decision to resign from my position as one of the District Commissioners of GirlGuiding in Cottingham. Due to my relocation, I was resigning anyway, but I have moved the date forward to an immediate resignation. This decision didn’t come easy, but the sudden decline of my Grandpa showed me that life is to short to take on unnecessary stress and at a time when I have so much going on, from the things listed above to my mountain of university work, it was one additional stress that I didn’t need and, ultimately, that I couldn’t cope with. When I had the confirmation email saying that the resignation was sorted, I felt such a huge weight lifted off my shoulders and I don’t regret the decision.

So, possibly an unconventional ‘spring’ post, but this is what spring means to me…not being able to find anything because I’m living out of boxes; an impossible to tidy bedroom because I am overrun by said boxes; a mountain-load of stress caused by university/house-hunting/job-hunting/interviews. But it also means a fresh start; a brand new future and a whole new adventure to look forward to, just like the new things being born into the spring.

Your next stop on the blog hop is Stitches ‘N’ Dreams…enjoy!

InstagramCapture_877b0a3a-7e05-44d4-adc0-df0719c96407_jpg

28 thoughts on “Happy Spring 2014 Blog Hop: My Relationship with Spring

  1. what a different thought of Spring you have.. heehee.. :)
    and I agree with you that is really a new beginning of the many things ahead in life.. sorry to hear that grandpa is not doing well at this moment.. :(… hopefully you will settle down soon and being less stress.. :D

    take care and thank you so much for taking time in joining the blog hop.. :D hope some of the Spring Bloggers’ post will bring some happiness to you..

    • Haha I was worried it would seem too pessimistic to class as a ‘happy’ post! Although I do have a lot to look forward to right now :) I was surprised to see that we had both picked the ‘new beginning’ theme for our posts! Yes! I think there should only be a couple more weeks of University related stress (if I get busy writing my essays!) so not too long now :) Thank you for organising the blog hop! I’m really enjoying it and it’s great discovering new blogs! Off to the next one now!!!

      • Hee hee.. Is really interesting to read a different perspective.. Glad we both thought about new beginnings in the post.. :) Happy blog hopping.. :D

  2. Hi Hannah. Thank you for sharing your spring thoughts. I agree that spring is a time for new beginnings, although I’m sorry that things are so stressful for you at the moment. But I think you absolutely right when you say that life is too short to waste. A couple of years ago I decided the same thing, gave up my well-paid job and moved to Gambia to be with my (fairly) new husband. My life has totally changed, and although that is not without it’s stresses, I don’t regret my decision for a moment. So I just wanted to encourage you that life is what you make of it, and I’m sure you will soon be enjoying your new life very much. XX

    • I agree! I know that all of the stress will be worth it to get where I want to be in the end :) What an exciting move to Gambia! I’m nervous about moving to the next county! Knowing how stressful that is, I can only imagine what it must be like moving to another country! I’m glad it has worked out so well for you though! Thanks for stopping by :) xx

    • Aww thank you so much :) It is pretty emotionally draining right now but I know that he is in the best place. He likes to hear about my progress with jobs and house-hunting so it keeps me going to keep him updated!

  3. goodness Hannah, the more you post the more similar we seem, haha. Although I moved out of my family home 5 years ago (eeesh has it been that long?!) this year will see the first time I’ve lived with David, in West Yorkshire non the less! and I also will hopefully be getting a new job.

    also, having lots of handbags is great ;)

    • Haha handbags make everything better :P where abouts in West Yorkshire will you be??? Good luck with the job hunting! I’ve been filling in application forms non stop! Argh! Haha.

  4. Wow! so much happening and as I approach my 60th birthday in two weeks time I am so envious of you with your life ahead of you. You are in the spring of your life – love it and enjoy it because it rushes past all too quickly! I wish you all the very best with your move and with the new life ahead of you and I look forward to to reading all about it. Happy Easter. xx

    • I hadn’t thought of it that way! Although the ‘spring’ point in my life would have been rather appropriate! Would have made a good title! Never mind! I know what you mean, every year seems to be flying passed quicker than the last! I am very excited about the next chapter of my life though and I look forward to the surprises that it will bring! Happy Easter to you too and have a wonderful birthday! xx

  5. Good luck with your new beginning… Perhaps, you will find something that you like during Spring in future. I was wondering, so what’s your favourite season if it’s not to be Spring? ;)

    • Yes I imagine that I will! I think I always get ill because I am run down due to stress but once I leave education I won’t have that to worry about! Although I have discovered that I like Easter Eggs for breakfast ;) hehe. I like summer best…holidays and sun…bliss!!!

  6. Hi Hannah – anyone who has 2 boxes of handbags must a lovely person – my MOTH said you can only use one at a time so why so many – so I said there are 365 days in a year – you have great blog – ciao :-)

  7. So sorry to hear about your Grandpa :( Life truly is too short! The possibilities of your immediate future is a bit like our spring weather, I think—meaning anything can happen… Just remember what they say about lemonade ;) Looking forward to following along with your adventures :)<3

    • Aww thank you for your thoughts. It is a touch time but he is in the best place to get the treatment that he needs and they know what is best for him. Haha that is very true! It is very exciting facing so many possibilities! I have never been in this position before (having always been at school, knowing that I was going to university at 18 and knowing that I wanted to study a masters) so this is the first time that I have faced anything unknown before! Hehe I will remember the lemonade! And certainly keep everyone up to date with whatever life may bring! Thank you for stopping by :) <3

  8. Love to hear Spring isn’t everything to someone else…while I was at university in WA state, USA we discovered I was allergic to the main crop grown in the area; alfalfa. I spent two years ill every spring until I could leave for summer break! However, like my Dad used to say “This to shall pass.” and it does. Embrace every day you have with your Grandpa. It’s hard to lose someone here but best to keep in mind that they go to a better place. Good luck with your move, it’s so discombobulating! Best wishes.

    • Yeah spring certainly isn’t for anyone! I bet it is such a pain with your allergies! Thank you for your thoughts. Sadly my Grandpa passed away on Easter Sunday, but I was able to see him only a few days before and he was himself right until the end.I am going for my first house viewing on Tuesday so that is keeping me busy right now!

  9. I started liking spring a lot more after I was done studying! :P And since I live in the south in the US, spring is always really nice and warm – and much more comfortable than summer – so that helps a lot.

    When I was younger I always used to have migraines when spring comes around. It apparently had something to do with the change in season, pressure, and temperatures (or something like that), but after doing some acupuncture I seem to be doing a lot better :)

    Good luck with the move and new job, that is really exciting! And sorry about your grandfather :/

    • Haha I think I will like spring after this year when I’m not studying any more too! Haha yeah spring is usually rainy here! Yes exciting times! Keeping me rather busy (and slightly stressed!) Thank you for your thoughts

  10. I usually do enjoy Spring, but we really don’t get much of a Spring in Michigan. Always seems that we go from Winter to Summer. Autumn is my favorite season. But I hope that you get through Spring without getting sick and without too much rain. Good luck on your move and with a new job. Lots of “new” things happening with you. I hope everything goes smoothly. So sorry to hear about your Grandpa’s decline in health. I think it was very wise of you to move away from the things that were stressful to you and taking up a lot of time so that you can enjoy the time with your Grandpa. Life is too short and we do have to remember to enjoy it with our loved with ones and take every day as a gift. Thoughts and prayers for your Grandpa, you and your family. Hugs.

  11. Pingback: An Update | Handmade by Hannah

Leave a Reply

